We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patron Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Patron Mexican Restaurant
11042 State route 525 Ste 102, Clinton, Whidbey Island, WA 98260
(360) 341-4101
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Clinton
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Clinton, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Enjoyed a very nice avocado tostada (salad) promoted by a local insurance office. Mmm! Splendid taste! Everything was fresh and plenty of it. The staff works hard to please their guests. In time, everything will be just as we hope for when stopping for Mexican food. Convenient to Hwy 525.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Low on Value, High on Annoyance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

With so few restaurants on south Whidbey Island we gave this one 3 tries before we gave up. Their high prices for average food and less-than-average service leave a lot to be desired. We eat at El Corral--better food & better prices despite a rundown dining area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Better than Avg.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always pretty good food and they seem to try and please you. Cleaner and better than other MX place on the south end.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Probably the better Mexican Restaurant on South Whidbey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

At there last week and had the special. It was humongous! I ate it for dinner and my husband and I had it for breakfast the next day. Sangria by the liter and half liter is VERY good. Some Mexican restaurants seem very greasy, but this one is not that way. There are a lot of things on the menu that do not interest me, being a good Mexican cook myself, but I can always find something I don't make and it is good. Nothing extraordinary, just good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everything smelled like dishwashing soap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Food is about average ... what you'd get at any other Mexican restaurant. We visited near the end of the evening (just before closing), and the smell of soap (from cleaning up the restaurant for closing?) permeated EVERYTHING. My water tasted like soap, the foyer smelled like soap, and my food didn't have the delighful aroma of freshly baked tortillas and melted cheese that one expects.

I'm not sure I'll go back ... it is hard to get rid of that scented 'memory'.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patron Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Clinton, Whidbey Island
 
Clinton, Whidbey Island
Langley, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Patron Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patron Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.