We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambiance & Service, Average Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiftwater Cellars

Swiftwater Cellars
301 Rope Rider Drive, Cle Elum, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Cle Elum
Attraction details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance & Service, Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The food was good, but a bit underseasoned. Service was excellent. Food expensive, but a nice splurge. I'm not sure this restaurant would do as well if it were located in a city with competition from other nice restaurants, but in Cle Elum with sparse upscale restaurants, this seems to do well. I did NOT leave there thinking, "I HAVE to come back here next year!"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The food and service was amazing. I have to be Gluten free and they had a wide range of choices. Loved sitting by the firepit outdoors sampling some great wines and enjoying the awesome views.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see in Upper County!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Personable service and we went during Happy Hour when it was pretty busy - if the weather cooperates you really need to go out on the deck - food good, but seemed a bit pricey

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Steak was cooked perfect. Would have licked the plate if I thought no one would see!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hood river, oregon
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely location - great wine - need help with service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a seriously gorgeous location. The building and grounds are top notch. The wines are delicious. We were very excited about having dinner there. We settled in a for wonderful evening. Though the server was pleasant, she knew less about the wines and where the fruit was from then I did (I had read the brochure in the lobby, she obviously hadn't). We had just started on our beautiful, tasty appetizer when an assistant arrived with our salads. For one thing, we had just started our appetizer and didn't want to be rushed. For another, there wasn't space on the table to set down the salads even if we would have wanted them. We asked for him to hold on to them until we finished our appetizer. He took them away and brought them right back as soon as we had finished our appetizer. Only problem was, he didn't clear the dishes first so we had to scramble to move them so he could set down the salads. As we enjoyed our salads, I could clearly see at the display kitchen, that our entrees were sitting under the heat lamp waiting for us. Now, this may not sound like a big deal to you, but when you are looking at over $125 for dinner for two, you don't want to be rushed or served food that was sat under a heat lamp for 15 minutes. When our food arrived, it was just okay. The manager was aware that we were not very pleased so she came over to sat down with us (!). She said sometimes it takes a long time to get food from the kitchen so our server was just trying to cut down on the wait. She offered a complimentary dessert which wasn't very good. Overall, we would suggest giving them some time to work their issues out and it might be worthwhile. Otherwise, just stop in for a glass of wine and an appetizer.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiftwater Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiftwater Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.