We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the wine is good the food is not” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars

Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars
301 Rope Rider Drive, Cle Elum, WA 98922
509-674-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Cle Elum
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Suncadia Drive
Description: Swiftwater Cellars is nestled on the historic Roslyn No. 9 Coal Mine in the heart of the Cascade Mountains. Its unique location within a renowned resort makes it a destination within a destination offering premium Swiftwater Cellars’ wines and Pacific Northwest cuisine, mountain outlooks, championship golf and private dark sky observation. Swiftwater Cellars is the focal point of Northwest living with European style. It provides you with a natural sense of mountain elegance and is ideal for weddings or private parties, a venue to reinvent the team spirit of your business or simply, a home away from home to renew in the comforts of fresh air and outdoor activities. Swiftwater Cellars saddles the Cascade Mountains along the Interstate 90 corridor being the ideal location for a quick one hour plus drive from Seattle or the place to stop on the way to the other side of the state. The Swiftwater family looks forward to your visit and we ensure you and your guests the opportunity to take part in all the Northwest has to offer.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the wine is good the food is not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My recommendation is to go to this place for the wine flights and skip the food: it is overpriced and the quality leaves a lot to be desired. For instance, I had the Kobe beef and received about 2 ounces of meat slices atop a pile of mushrooms that tasted like they had been pickled, just awful. The entrees run in the $40-$50 range and though the presentation is fine the actual taste is work a third of that. Skip this place for dinner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a wonderful time we had. There were 5 of us women out to enjoy lunch. Our waitress was great. She had to come to our table 3 times to check on us before we decided if we wanted a glass of wine or to wine taste. Then it took another 4 times of her checking on us before we ordered our meals. She couldn't have been more patient or friendly. The food was also great. I had the Mexican salad and vegetable flatbread. It was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good luck at 4pm...service worse than normal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

They said they were "between lunch and dinner" so all we could order was a salad. Give me a break. The prices at this place deserve stellar service and food at any time. The service is poor at normal hours...long waits for anything. Come "between meals" and risk your free time waiting even longer for sub par food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Outdoor Seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hard to beat the outdoor patio here. Perched a hundred feet above several manicured golf holes, with an excellent view of forested foothills in the distance, the view is pure Pacific Northwest. Great service by Jeremy who has served our family and extended family numerous times. Good wine, a great salad for my wife and surprisingly spicy (and good) chili for me. All that and it was blue sky, sunny, and mid-80's in the late afternoon. Tough to beat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, great building & setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We have had one dinner and several lunches here, and have never been disappointed. Consistently good food - especially the pulled pork sandwich and flat breads (pizzas) for lunch,. And the setting is very nice, a great building and terrific patio area, both with a very nice view. Just a few minutes off I-90.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.