We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building but, no service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars

Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars
301 Rope Rider Drive, Cle Elum, WA 98922
509-674-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Cle Elum
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Suncadia Drive
Description: Swiftwater Cellars is nestled on the historic Roslyn No. 9 Coal Mine in the heart of the Cascade Mountains. Its unique location within a renowned resort makes it a destination within a destination offering premium Swiftwater Cellars’ wines and Pacific Northwest cuisine, mountain outlooks, championship golf and private dark sky observation. Swiftwater Cellars is the focal point of Northwest living with European style. It provides you with a natural sense of mountain elegance and is ideal for weddings or private parties, a venue to reinvent the team spirit of your business or simply, a home away from home to renew in the comforts of fresh air and outdoor activities. Swiftwater Cellars saddles the Cascade Mountains along the Interstate 90 corridor being the ideal location for a quick one hour plus drive from Seattle or the place to stop on the way to the other side of the state. The Swiftwater family looks forward to your visit and we ensure you and your guests the opportunity to take part in all the Northwest has to offer.
Ellensburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building but, no service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Swift water is at a beautiful location. The entrance is grand. It gives you the feel of an upscale establishment. Once inside we were unsure at first where to go. With some type of general seating area in front of us mixed with a gift shop we wondered to the left and found we were at the right spot as the hostess greeted us warmly. We were sat quickly. With menus in front of us our wait began. There were a few other tables we could see and a few employees walking around working. After what felt like five minutes we started to wonder if we would be helped. Employees kept walking by us but no one stopped to help us. I stopped one of them and they had water delivered to our table. About another 15 minutes passed as we waited again without service. The water tasted good. We got up and left without ever being helped. The hostess said goodbye to us.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Wine list: kinda stunk.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This review is for the Hoist House restaurant (side note: I'm sure there is some great significance for the name but honestly - what a bad name for a restaurant!).

We were a group of eight and were seated at a long table. I understand the need for long tables in restaurants for large parties as rounds take up more room, but seating eight folks at a long table just means that the occupants are doomed to do a last-minute "conversation shuffle" upon reaching the table. And for those who haven't experienced it, a conversation shuffle is where everybody, upon realizing that they're about to get roped into a long table. frantically jogs and shuffles to sit next to someone they actually want to engage with. Because at a long table, there is simply NO WAY for the whole table to carry on a conversation like you can around a round table. As anticipated, the conversations promptly broke off into two: one for each end of the table. It got to the point where one of our party seated toward the middle actually had to tell his story twice, once to each end of the table. Plus, it was REALLY LOUD in the dining area. Like, I-can't-quite-hear-you-directly-across-the-table-­from-me-so-I'll-just-nod-appropriately loud.

We started with the Arcadian Mixed Greens salad (Poached Pear, Glazed Pecans, Saint Agur Blue Cheese, Pear Vinaigrette). The salad was overall good, but the pear vinaigrette (which was a creamy pink color) was a bit sweet and overpowered the rest of the salad. The blue cheese was three chunks, serious blue cheese flavor there! And the pecans were sparse.

Next up, I ordered the RR Ranch Beef Filet (Boursin Cheese, Yukon Gold mashed Potatoes, Swiftwater Cabernet-Mushroom Jus) and it was divine. Asked for it to be cooked medium rare, and that is exactly how it arrived. The beef flavor melded nicely with the jus and the boursin perched atop the filet. The Yukon Gold mashers were creamy and divine, a perfect bed for the beef to rest on. The roasted broccolini was quite good as well, and balanced the decadence of the plate nicely.

Service was spot-on great, no complaints there. Wine list: kinda stunk. I know it's a winery, but still. They were out of at least two wines, and that dwindled the wine list options to about five. Seriously?

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hoist House at Swiftwater Cellars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Restaurant has a nice menu with great service and beautiful location. We have had two large family gatherings there and will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The trout is to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is beautiful, the staff and owers are friendly and there to make it a great visit. Service was perfect, wines are great.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery an fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We love this place. We live about 80 miles away and make it a point to eat here on our way to Seattle every trip. When you walk in the strucutre you immediatly feel comfortable and at home. The food is amazing and the service outstanding.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoist House Restaurant at Swiftwater Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.