We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Portals Restaurant is a class act in the back country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort

Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort
3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
5096496473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Cle Elum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bullfrog Road
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Portals Restaurant is a class act in the back country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I made a spur-of-the-moment trip from Kent on her birthday, not knowing what Suncadia had to offer. I'm puzzled by some of the reviews I'm reading here, as my experience in the hotel and the restaurant revealed a class operation in total. Every staff member I encountered was bright, cheery, engaging and knowledgeable, displaying qualities I've only seen in the very best establishments around the country. The dining experience might have been in a Ritz-Carleton, standing out in every way. The view is spectacular, the food was outstanding and the wait service as good as it gets. I would recommend a similar 160 mile round trip for anyone who wants a truly delightful surprise in the "woods".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Decent food, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had dinner here with 2 kids. The food was good, but not outstanding. The french fries were particularly good! The view was nice and the service was super attentive and professional. The prices were high, but we expected that. We enjoyed the meal, but it wasn't the kind of restaurant I'd want to go to for both breakfast and dinner 3 nights in a row. One night was good, but I think more than that would be a let down and the high prices would start to be a downer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srjohanson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for several days at the lodge, and we reserved a table at Portal's for dinner one night. We were disappointed with the entire experience. The server was inexperienced and inattentive. The caesar salad was OK but dressing was watering and greens were tasteless. The lamb chops were fatty with very little meat on them. The scallop risotto was clumsy -- scallops were good but risotto was clumsy with too much cheese. At $30-40 an entree, we expected better!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dessert and Wine afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stop in to "Portals" Restaurant @ Suncadia resort for dessert and a glass of the "Swiftwater Cellars wine. Was my first time eating at the restaurant, visited tasting room once before. Was not impressed with the service or the food quality. Ordered the Molten Chocolate cake, when it arrived it was dry and certainly wasn't molten. Tasted like it was frozen and reheated. The servers where very young and lacked certain amount of friendliness needed to be in food service. Bill was $40.00 dollars for a 2 glasses of wine, cup of coffee and dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place to go with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for several days at the Lodge and ate one night at Portals. We are foodies and eat out in Seattle and on our travels frequently (including internationally). This is a great place to go with kids; the kids menu is fantastic including things like grilled salmon or sirloin steak with sides for $8. All the food we ordered was cooked correctly. The menu is pretty standard salmon, crab cakes, steaks, raviolis, ceasar salad, iceberg wedge, etc. The desserts were disappointing in selection, even for a place that is part of a hotel, and we didn't order any. It's ice cream, more ice cream, creme brulee, cheese cake, or a warm berry crisp. The service was very attentive and on-it with timing, etc. but not the type of folds your napkin if you leave the table, offers sparkling or still water, or can recommend a wine pairing. This is a fantastic family restaurant if you are in the area and want a good meal with attentive service. We would return if we are staying at the Lodge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort also viewed

 

Been to Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.