We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort

Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort
3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922
5096496473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 37 restaurants in Cle Elum
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bullfrog Road
srjohanson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for several days at the lodge, and we reserved a table at Portal's for dinner one night. We were disappointed with the entire experience. The server was inexperienced and inattentive. The caesar salad was OK but dressing was watering and greens were tasteless. The lamb chops were fatty with very little meat on them. The scallop risotto was clumsy -- scallops were good but risotto was clumsy with too much cheese. At $30-40 an entree, we expected better!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    52
    33
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dessert and Wine afternoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stop in to "Portals" Restaurant @ Suncadia resort for dessert and a glass of the "Swiftwater Cellars wine. Was my first time eating at the restaurant, visited tasting room once before. Was not impressed with the service or the food quality. Ordered the Molten Chocolate cake, when it arrived it was dry and certainly wasn't molten. Tasted like it was frozen and reheated. The servers where very young and lacked certain amount of friendliness needed to be in food service. Bill was $40.00 dollars for a 2 glasses of wine, cup of coffee and dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to go with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for several days at the Lodge and ate one night at Portals. We are foodies and eat out in Seattle and on our travels frequently (including internationally). This is a great place to go with kids; the kids menu is fantastic including things like grilled salmon or sirloin steak with sides for $8. All the food we ordered was cooked correctly. The menu is pretty standard salmon, crab cakes, steaks, raviolis, ceasar salad, iceberg wedge, etc. The desserts were disappointing in selection, even for a place that is part of a hotel, and we didn't order any. It's ice cream, more ice cream, creme brulee, cheese cake, or a warm berry crisp. The service was very attentive and on-it with timing, etc. but not the type of folds your napkin if you leave the table, offers sparkling or still water, or can recommend a wine pairing. This is a fantastic family restaurant if you are in the area and want a good meal with attentive service. We would return if we are staying at the Lodge.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the view then go somewhere else to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The view from the lodge is the only reason to dine here. Went this afternoon for lunch as we wanted to take my parents (visiting from NY for xmas) to a nice meal. Thought the upscale lodge would have a restaurant to match. Wrong. Terrible service. Server was friendly but almost non-existent. She didn't know the menu, had to double check the draft beer list. Then took 15 minutes to get drinks and another 30 for the meal and then didn't check back with us for another 15 minutes (I worked in restaurants while in college, so I know the "good service" rule of checking back within a few minutes of serving the meal). The food overall was tired and bland and barely warm. We started with the zucchini appetizer which seemed to be of the previously frozen variety zucchini sticks encased in a lukewarm greasy shell of breading-the sort that slides off like a jacket the second you try to eat it. The tomato bisque: well let's just say I'd bet my life it was a bowl of marinara pasta sauce. Lukewarm. My dad had the salmon and cod fish and chips: again seemingly frozen-heat-and-eat variety of thin, heavily-battered greasy fillets with a side of soggy fries. Luke warm. Mom had the turkey sandwich, rather bland, with a side cup of marinara pasta sauce soup and I went for the house specialty: lobster mac n cheese. This was a mistake. Undercooked gummy pasta with overcooked lobster meat in a rather bland sauce served, you guessed it, lukewarm. Seriously, the view is gorgeous, the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Buy a drink, enjoy the mountain lodge ambiance, then head elsewhere for your meal. This was truly a disappointment. A lodge of this caliber should do better than this. Blah...shame on on you, Portals. A beautiful "upscale" lodge set smack in the middle of gorgeousness offering such mediocrity is just inexcusable.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W, Manager at Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Kimarcher3,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with our restaurant was not to your liking. The team at Portals works very hard to provide a great meal with friendly service to each and every guest. It looks as though you did not recieve either. I would like to invite you to be my personel guest in the restaurant and show you the service and food that this team can provide.

Please feel free to reach me at the Front Desk of the Lodge as we would like the chance to make things right.

Respectfully,

Andrew Wilson
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Melt in your mouth beef ribs...best ever! Ordered the family style dinner for four. Very generous servings - enough for six.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort also viewed

 

Been to Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.