We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beamers Hells Canyon Tours

Beamers Hells Canyon Tours
1451 Bridge Street, Clarkston, WA 83501
(509) 758-4800
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a fantastic trip. While you could see a lot in 8 hours you see more in 10. When we were at the 9 hour mark I thought “I want to come back and do this again”. It is a long trip on a boat so come prepared for that. If you’re not the type of person that can have fun all day on a boat, take a shorter one. The river is so beautiful, and the hills were ever changing. The rock formations were different at every turn. The boulders on one part of the trip were the size of a house.
Several people on our boat had bad backs and knees, all seemed to do ok. You will have to do a little walking uphill. At the historic ranch it was a little harder for some to get out of the boat and up the hill. They didn’t get off the boat. They didn’t seem to be bothered by it.
Everyplace that we stopped those that wanted to get wet, got wet. Several went swimming. It was refreshing…
Our captain was a knowledgeable guide, and spent enough time at every point of interest, turning the boat so all could see and get great pictures. There is a lot of interesting history in the canyon. The boats were very comfortable. The rapids were fun. Do bring a jacket, even on a hot day.
I loved seeing all the people on the rafts. Wow what a trip they all must have had. We saw it all, from commercial outfits to a guy on the paddle board.
So eat breakfast before you come, bring a bottle of water or two, and then refill it with the ice water at the back of the boat. The sack lunch was good. If you’re a big eater bring a snack. Come with a good attitude and have fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill K, Owner at Beamers Hells Canyon Tours, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Beamers Hells Canyon Tours would like to thank-you for the time you spent to share your review of our river trips with others on Trip Advisor. Your review is a great description of what someone should expect when traveling with us on the Snake River of Hells Canyon. We look forward to welcoming you onboard with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SO CAL
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“HELL'S CANYON - NOT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you're looking for sheer cliffs, granite rocks, a narrow canyon with lots of rapids, go to the Grand Canyon. The Snake river has 26 dams built and your trip will be interrupted repeatedly by floating raft companies passing by. Each time our driver pulls over and waits for them to pass. It gets monotonous. While the river is beautiful and the "high" hills lovely you could see everything you need to see in 8 hours, not 10. It's numbing and the view becomes redundant.

As you read the full day description on this site you see a price of $205. at the bottom. If you don't read the additional information page be ready for a shock when you receive your email confirmation. Oh, about that Washington Sales tax and US Forest Service Use fee which adds up to about $235. per person. When I called to question the price they responded by telling me to read the additional information page which still doesn't tell you the price. NOWHERE ON THIS SITE DO YOU SEE THE EXACT PRICE.

Boarding the boat the staff hands you a hard granola bar that tastes like cardboard.

Boat fast and seats are comfortable. Captain knowledgeable but you can't understand a thing he says when boat traveling at full speed.

First stop includes lemonade and fruit punch, both warm and terrible tasting.

Second stop lunch includes good turkey and cheese sandwich, chips and cookies. They have little cottages to rent overnight. WARNING: I didn't see any airconditioning so please check as July and August the temperatures are in the high 80's and 90's.

Souvenir shop - cheap logo clothing in a room with no lights and no staff. Save your money.

Return stop at Kirkwood Ranch & Museum - Nothing but rusty farm implements from the past - I have no idea why we stopped here. For elderly people almost none of the stops are easy, flat footing.

Petroglyphs - What a joke - A fews scratches on a rock they pull the boat up to covered by weeds.

On the return the captain floors it so you hit the rapids with the front end of the boat. The jarring and pounding is not only uncomfortable but I would think twice about this tour if you have neck, back or are pregnant.

Everyone exhausted when we returned.

All I could think about was despite seeing some nice scenery it was a price RIPOFF.

The half-day trip. I would rent a car and drive up the highway that runs along the river allowing you to see the same scenery you would see on a half day tour. The views aren't that special and of course you never enter Hell's Canyon.


.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill K, Owner at Beamers Hells Canyon Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Beamers Hells Canyon Tours appreciates the time you spent to share your comments about our tour with others, however-we do not necessarily agree with everything you have to say.

Our departure point is Clarkston, WA and our Full Day Tour travels to Johnson Bar 16 miles below Hells Canyon Dam. There are no dams on the section of the Snake River that we are licensed to operate tours.

Hells Canyon, North America's deepest river gorge, encompasses a vast and remote region, 652,488 acres with dramatic changes in elevation, terrain, climate and vegetation. Carved by the great Snake River, Hells Canyon plunges more than a mile below Oregon's west rim, and 8,000 feet below snowcapped He Devil Peak of Idaho's Seven Devils Mountains. We feel over a mile from river bed to mountain top is more than high hills. They are classified as mountains.
We share the river with other boaters and rafters alike. While our US Coast Guard licensed captains follow all US Coast Guard boating regulations for safe boating procedures, customary river etiquette is to slow down for rafts.

The current pricing for all our tours are listed with each tour on our website. The first paragraph of the general information tab at the top of each page states All fares are quoted per person in U.S. dollars. They do not include Washington State sales Tax, US Forest Service Use Fee. Our reservation staff is more than happy to answer any questions about Washington State Sales Tax and US Forest Service Use Fee. The person writing this review complained of sticker shock when they received their confirmation but neglected to include they received a AAA discount and actually paid $203.85 per person all inclusive.

When boarding our boats, we welcome guests onboard by checking their name off our passenger manifest and offer them a 2 pack of Nature Valley Granola Bars. If the guest does not desire one; they certainly do not have to accept it. We also allow guests to bring their own personal size cooler onboard with them if they like, and many guests do.

Our first stop is our Heller Bar Lodge. Our tour boat takes on fuel and guests help themselves to self serve ice tea, lemonade, and cranberry pomegranate splash drink. The beverage machine dispenses the beverages cold, guest can also choose to put ice in their drinks from the ice bucket located on the drink table.

The tour boat travels along about 35mph. If the captain is narrating while the tour boat is traveling at full throttle, which he must during some stretches of the river to keep the boat up on plane it can be difficult to hear everything he says, especially if you are seated at the very rear of the boat. The captain is also available through out the entire duration of the tour and approachable at all our stops to answer any questions including something you felt you may have missed.

The Kirkwood Historic Ranch is an area rich in river history from early Native American occupation to pioneer ranching life. Visitors are welcome to stop at the museum and learn about ranching life in the canyon. Displays in the log bunkhouse also contain prehistoric artifacts and interpret early Native American occupation in the canyon. Also encompassing the lawn is farm equipment once used and is an excellent showcase of how difficult is was to carve out a life as a rancher in Hells Canyon.

The ancient Indian Petroglyphs are a record of Indian settlements along the banks of the Snake River of Hells Canyon. They are much more than a few scratches on a rock. We see them everyday; they are not covered by weeds.

Our US Coast Guard certified captains do not deliberately floor the boat in an effort to hit the rapids in a way that would intentionally cause our guests discomfort. We simply return to where we departed from, there is only one way to head back down river.

We sincerely apologize that your tour of Hells Canyon fell below your expectations. Since 1974 we’ve been providing safe, professionally guided tours on the Snake River of Hells Canyon to thousands and thousands of guests. We strive for customer satisfaction and we feel badly that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The drive to get to Lewiston/Clarkston was worth every minute. The Jet boat sliced through rough rapids like butter !! 800 hp.....WoW !! the scenery was most beautiful. Not something I will ever forget.
The warm Turkey Sandwich that they supplied for lunch was pretty disgusting. But other than that -- the trip itself was great. We made stops along the way to see some sights of significance, get refreshment (drinks like juices) get wet, bathroom breaks and stretch....I would do it again !!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill K, Owner at Beamers Hells Canyon Tours, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Beamers Hells Canyon Tours is glad to know you enjoyed your Hells Canyon Tour with us and appreciates you taking your time to share your experience with others. Thank-you for letting us know about your lunch. Alberston's caters our sack lunches and we asked them to make sure plenty of ice packs are in the coolers, especially now that we are experiencing our warmest temperatures of the season. Thanks again for being our customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lifetime Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A must-see if you are in the Lewiston, ID area -- Hells Canyon by jetboat! We took the day trip (there are several different duration trips available) and really enjoyed the boat ride, the included meals, the fantastic scenary, the wildlife, and the history lessons. The crew is fantastic and the facilities we stopped at for meals were very welcoming. This trip is best suited for those in good health since it can get very hot in the canyon, you are on the water for many hours, and you need to climb up a trail from the riverbank to get to the lodges along the way for food and restrooms. I have also taken their dinner cruise, which is much less strenuous and only a few hours long, but you see some great scenary and have a very nice dinner.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill K, Owner at Beamers Hells Canyon Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Beamers Hells Canyon Tours sincerly appreciates the time you took to share your experience about your tour into America's deepest river gorge with us. You bring up some great points about accessibility and timing which we believe are very helpful to those who may be considering one of our tours. Thanks so much for being our customer and we do look forward to welcoming you onboard with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A great (but very long) day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed the 10 hour tour :-) of the Beamers Hells Canyon. It was a long day (probably too long) but great sights and a good tour.
The promised ameneties were hard to find but we did eventually find ice water on the boat.
The crew was certainly experienced and we had fun (but it was a long day - did I say that already???)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Beamers Hells Canyon Tours, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Beamers Hells Canyon Tours sincerly appreciates the time you took to share your comments about our tour...our Full Day Tour is a long day, it departs at 8am and returns between 5 &6pm
It encompasses just under 200 miles round trip. For those who feel the Full Day Tour may be too long for them we offer a Half DayTour. We're glad to have had you onboard with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beamers Hells Canyon Tours also viewed

 

Been to Beamers Hells Canyon Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beamers Hells Canyon Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.