We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake View Hotel to your Saves list
Lake View Hotel
104 East Woodin Avenue, Chelan, WA 98816   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Chelan B&B and Inns
Chelan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The prices for these rooms were great. There are other hotels in Chelan with higher rates and not as nice rooms. This is perfect for adults, Good for a girls weekend or for just you and your husband. It is right in down town, everything is walking distance. The room was just the right size, comfortable and clean beds, great bathroom and beautifully decorated. even though it is above a restaurant it was nice and quite. Also great for getting food or drinks and brining it up to our room! hope to spend our anniversary there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We celebrated my birthday weekend here last year, and it was a good place to stay for a couple nights. Located right downtown (not that Chelan is very big anyway), and we walked to dinner and the wine bars afterwards. Apart from the room itself, which was very clean, seemed to be recently renovated and had great charm, the B&B kind of seemed like an afterthought compared to the restaurant downstairs. Check-in consisted of us just giving the bar tender/server our name and them providing a room key. At check-out there was a lady actually manning the desk area who asked how everything went. Also just good to know - the rooms are up a fairly steep flight of stairs with no elevator access. I was recovering from knee surgery when we went so that would have been good to know. We will probably stay again though when in Chelan!

Room Tip: We had a room with a little balcony which was nice to enjoy our morning coffee on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel. Nothing like you would expect. Beautiful rooms, greatly decorated, and amazing customer service. The owners were so nice and even gave us their home number if we needed anything. Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a nice romantic time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We saw beautiful reviews and pictures of this hotel. Come here to enjoy our anniversary weekend in the off season to find we are booked in the ONLY room with no handle (because it was broken off) and the bathroom door not coming to a complete close because of bad framing. Very unimpressed with the atmosphere of the room and ecspecially the fact we had a broken door handle when the hotel was obviously not completely booked. Definitely looking into other options when visiting chelan again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a very nice stay here recently! We felt very welcomed from the moment we checked in and enjoyed speaking with the couple that owns the hotel and the restaurant below. True, it is a little unconventional for a hotel since there really isn't a lobby (you check in at the counter of the restaurant located below) but any inconvenience that causes is made up for by the quality of the hotel above. The common area(s) are furnished just as grandly as the actual rooms, there is a lot of natural light from the skylights and big windows so no dark hallways! Our room (and each room, as I understand) had dark wood trim and furnishings, a comfortable bed, gas fireplace (that produced ample heat), and a beautiful, large bathroom. Some nice features that were included as well were a wine storage cabinet (with glasses) and wet bar, a Keurig with pods, a generously sized wardrobe and six-drawer dresser, a jetted tub that opened into the bedroom (optional), and our room included a small balcony with bistro set for two outside. It was pretty cold during our stay, but if we stay during warmer weather it would be nice to sit outside and gaze at the hillsides, lake/river front, and people-watch. The location was very nice, right in the "heart" of the downtown area with many shops, restaurants and activities within easy walking distance. We even had a bit of a "view" from our balcony that we could watch the sunset from. The room was very quiet and once we went up the stairs we couldn't hear any of the restaurant noise from downstairs. If we ever needed anything we would simply ask at the counter downstairs, although the rooms were well stocked. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and family! One thing to note is that parking can be a bit tricky, as there is no parking at the hotel and parking is time-limited in front of and around the hotel. There is a lot to leave your car in but it is located a block and a half away from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night during Chelan's fire and ice festival. When we got into town we couldn't find a parking lot, so we parked on the street and walked to the hotel. You enter the hotel through a bar called BC McDonalds and check in at the hostess stand. We were greeted after 3 minutes of standing there by a young busser. When we indicated we were there to check into the hotel he told us we'd “need to wait, because the restaurant is busy." After a couple more minutes a waitress came over and helped us and was very friendly, but also very busy. She told us the hotel parking lot was a black and half away and got us checked in. The parking lot is definitely far from the hotel--it is a long block and a half and when we got there, it hadn't been plowed and there was no way our car could make it over the snow embankment, so we parked on the street and walked back to the hotel. We were pretty irritated by this point and felt the hotel website should make a better effort to inform guests of the parking and check in situation. However, when we got to our room, we felt much better. The rooms have been updated nicely and are very cute with great finishings. The bathroom is pretty, with a large Jacuzzi tub. The fire place was also really nice, the bed was big and comfortable, and we enjoyed the balcony. The rooms also have a small fridge and separate sink. We loved the room and the location is terrific, but felt that based on the bad service at check in and the lack of a decent parking lot, we probably would not come back at the rate they are charging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

All too often, it seems, I read reviews where a traveller complains about a lack of amenities or some accommodation feature that they've become so accustomed to, that, even when previous reviews clearly state what's being offered, they feel the need to complain. That's unfortunate for everyone involved. It's entirely because we knew what to expect from this quirky - yet, lovely - boutique hotel, that we had the wonderful, off-season experience that we enjoyed.

The rooms are as shown on the hotel's webpage. As we took advantage of an internet coupon rate, we were given a "balcony view room". This, along with a "skylight view room" are the less expensive options. The room was lovely. Queen bed with an excellent mattress. A high quality electric fireplace is located in one corner. A flat panel tv (looked to be about 36") is mounted, above it. Sliding wooden doors open to the luxurious jetted bath. Even the air conditioner is interesting. It's disguised as a picture on the wall! The one criticism I might have is that, although very tasteful, the rattan-style blinds do not entirely exclude the street light. Not enough of an issue so as to prevent a restful sleep, however.

The balcony affords a nice, although partial, view of the Chelan River and Lake Chelan. Table and chairs are provided. No smoking.

The bathroom is great! As with the room, spotlessly clean. Lots of hot water and well lit. The tub is extra long and has plenty of strong jets. And, as noted, those sliding wooden doors that open onto the bedroom. The dual shower heads are a nice touch. It doesn't take long to figure out that, by rotating the shower control handle, you move through the various shower functions. What's travel without adventure, anyway?

Nice mini fridge and Kuerig coffeemaker are provided. High end bathroom amenities. It was a great room.

Note that we visited during the off-season. We appreciate the quiet and opportunity to better interact with the locals. And, of course, the better deals! As has been previously reviewed, the Lake View Hotel does not have any on street or enclosed parking. There is parking, however, approximately 1 block behind the hotel. From there, just walk up the service road that runs adjacent to the riverfront park, to the rear entrance of the hotel. The registration is just as you walk into the bar/restaurant that's situated beneath the actual hotel, upstairs. No elevator. No kids. (This is where, if those things matter, you should take note!) As such, it's "walk-up" accommodation. Check-in was quick and friendly. Instructions - and an additional key - were provided regarding entering the building "after hours".

The following morning, we had the pleasurable opportunity of meeting the owners, Brent and Afni. Not only did we enjoy a great, late breakfast (another review), but Brent allowed me the opportunity to check out the larger suites. I've included a couple of photos, for comparison.

I can appreciate that, during the peak tourist season, this accommodation might have drawbacks that we didn't see. The location could be noisy, at times. The parking issue might be worse. However, our experience was one of a romantic, heritage hotel that's been beautifully renovated with nothing but friendly, personable service. Top marks.

Room Tip: While the deluxe suite is, arguably, the nicest room in the hotel, it's situated at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 104 East Woodin Avenue, Chelan, WA 98816
Location: United States > Washington > Chelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.