We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Menu - Not Normal Bar Fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Devilfish Public House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Devilfish Public House
289 NW Chehalis Ave., Chehalis, WA 98532
+1 360-996-4682
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: We are a family friendly, A great hang-out for all ages. We pride ourselves on having good food for a fair price. Our dining room is decorated in an old nautical theme and gives you something to look at. Met with friends and make new ones. WE WELCOME YOU! Winter Hours: Monday thru Thursday 3pm-10pm Friday & Saturday 11am-Midnight Sunday 1pm to 7pm
Napavine, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu - Not Normal Bar Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I went to The Devilfish Public House after seeing it on the internet.

We were very surprised by the diversity of the menu.

As we were only there for a late afternoon snack, I can only attest for a portion of the menu.

The Beer/Cider selection is great!
Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly.

We got our food, not as warm as we would have liked, but outstanding in flavor and presentation.

We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Freindly Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was a slow night and the atmosphere was pleasant. It was the waitress first night, but you wouldn't have known. She was very friendly! The perfect place for a quick bite and glass of wine. I was disappointed w/the prawn & avocado salad. The shrimp were very small. I expected prawns, which are larger. Other than that, the waitress and wine balanced out the night. Food was just average.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“friendly vibe and attentive host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our group of 20 arrived unannounced late on a Saturday afternoon, between kitchen shifts. Tables were rearranged and, amazingly, the host didn't visibly sigh when everyone requested a separate check! Yes, there was a wait for the food, but everything came out at the same time, and everybody seemed pleased.

Kudos to Dave, who kept us entertained and happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun atmosphere, great food and friendly service--AND you can bring both kids and dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

What a cool addition to Lewis County! This place started out with minimal hours while the owners were working 2 jobs but they stuck it out because I'm sure they had faith it was going to be great--and it is! It's open every day now. The food is awesome and creatively different than expected at a pub. If you ever stick around near closing time I've never ever seen employees clean a place like they do. Everything is scrubbed like crazy! I think the guy in the back scraped the grill for at least 1/2 hour. Every tap was soaked and cleaned. It was strangely refreshing. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food looks good, but deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The food there looks good, and if you like microwaved food, then this place is perfect. BE CAREFUL OF COCKROACHES!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy B, Owner at The Devilfish Public House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Ok so it has taken me 2 weeks to respond to this review, here's why. I've had a pest inspection service come in from Olympia and they found NO INFESTATION!!!!. Let us keep in mind the building was built in 1906, we have another food establishment next door and apartments upstairs, so we may come across a bug or two once in awhile. We have issued "MIB Super Zapper Bug Guns" to the staff, and will quickly respond to any future sighting of these little buggers.
As for the microwave----come on really. Check out our other reviews here and the other restaurant review sites--- we stand by our rep!
Why is it every time we have to release a employee for sub standard performance a negative review appears---funny how that happens. Hungry come on in and judge for yourself.
Dave & Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devilfish Public House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devilfish Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.