We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Funky, But Very Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackinaws Restaurant

Mackinaws Restaurant
545 N Market Blvd, Ste 1, Chehalis, WA 98532-2197
360-740-8000
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Chehalis
Cuisines: American
Description: Unique meats and fish selections from the Pacific Northwest; catering; located in an historic restored hotel. A man cave on site serving beer and wine. Chef Laurel Khan.
Restaurant details
Description: Unique meats and fish selections from the Pacific Northwest; catering; located in an historic restored hotel. A man cave on site serving beer and wine. Chef Laurel Khan.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“A Little Funky, But Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped in at this little downtown Chehalis place without a reservation on a Friday night. Strangely for a weekend, there was only one server who had to cover 6-7 tables and about 20 patrons (never found out if they were just short that night, or this was the standard staffing). After she finally took our order, we were served by somebody elde who also did kitchen work, and our service was fine. Despite thw service situation, we really enjoyed this restaurant, as the menu was creative, and most importantly, the food was excellent. They got my wife's boar dish order wrong, and she got another (more expensive) boar dish instead and it was fantastic. We only had to pay for the less expensive dish, of course. My whitefish order was also very nicely done. In addition, they have a very nice, reasonably priced wine list. We shared a dessert and it was also very good (large serving). We ate at many top notch restaurants during a two week Pacific Northwest trip, and the food at Mackinaws stood up to the best. Hopefully Chehalis will be able to support a place of this quality.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Food wasn't bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had dinner there last Saturday night. Found it awkward that only two other tables were occupied at 7 pm on a Saturday. The menu was quite small and didn't offer any poultry. The Justin Bieber type of music was horrible. There was some type of party on the second floor of the building and could hear people yelling and running back and fourth above our head.

Now on to the food. We started off with a fondue dish. It wasn't bad however not "Melting Pot" good. Not worth the $20. I had the filet and was pretty tasty! It was cooked exactly how ordered and the blue cheese on top was delicious. Didn't need steak sauce for this one! Desert was a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Also tasted good but lacking in the presentation. Just a scoop in a bowl, pretty basic. I expected a little more for the price.

Two of us spend $100. I would say the prices are on the high side considering location and environment of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place To Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Quality Food & Service and a relaxing atmosphere and would recommend it to anyone, if we visit again that will be the first place that we will visit

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Faultless and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Delicious and filling meal with enough options to keep most people happy. Extensive beer and wine list at reasonable prices. Attentive but unobtrusive service. The decor and tables are nicely arranged to offer a feeling of separation. All in all, a pleasant place to eat - recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Flank steak and Parmesan encrusted white fish. Everything is cooked perfect and a meal you wouldn't expect in a little town. Dessert was maple bacon ice cream with a cream cheese filled crepe. AMAZING!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackinaws Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mackinaws Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackinaws Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.