We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for Visit to Mt. St. Helens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   730 NW Liberty Place, Chehalis, WA 98532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chehalis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Adequate for Visit to Mt. St. Helens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is convenient for visiting the Johnston Ridge Observatory at MSH. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly & helpful, but: (1) the place requires a substantial update; (2) the beds offered way too little support; and (3) the 'free' breakfast buffet was pitiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Philip R,

We appreciate your review. We are certainly elated that you enjoyed our clean hotel and friendly staff service. Please accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with our property, beds and breakfast buffet. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with our whole team. Thank you again for your review as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
41
35
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express of Chehalis-Centraila was just what I was expecting - a clean, comfortable place to stay. The suite was decent size, with small kitchenette area - small sink, fridge, and microwave. The bed was comfortable. The one room suite also had a couch, coffee table, chair with ottoman a dresser and a desk. Our only criticism was that there was too much furniture and it made the room seem a little cramped. If you needed to pull out the sofa bed, I don't know what you would do all of the furniture!

The bathroom had a spacious shower, but no bathtub, which was fine with us. The bathroom was nice and clean with a reasonable countertop area to put all of your toiletries.

There was some train noise, but it was reduced if you closed the window and the drapes. It didn't bother us too much, or keep us awake. They do provide earplugs if you want them.

The included breakfast was a little bit above average, and was kept clean and well-stocked by friendly, helpful attendants.

The location was convenient to take day trips to Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Ranier. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bathtub, be sure to ask. Our suites had only a shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was surprised that didn't see a recycle basket in the room.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were visiting Mt. Rainier for the day and were heading to Mt. St. Helens the next day so we decided to stay here. Hotel is located off the Interstate, not much is off the exit, but an exit down there were resturants.

The staff was very friendly and very accommodating and gave us more towels when the bathroom was flooded from a member of the family taking a shower. The gym was very nice and the treadmill was awesome, I'm glad I was able to fit a workout into my vacation. Breakfast was standard. It was a nice place to stay and wasn't that expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. They were even wonderful with my great dane. We stayed here during a 4 day dog show. :)

Rooms & baths are clean. Beds are very comfy. We've stayed at HI Express locations all over the world and this one had the best soft beds and staff!!! Air conditioner helped block out the noise of the trains. Not that it was a loud AC, it just helped some. Any where you stay in these towns you will hear the trains. They do provide ear plugs, but I didn't use them.

Rooms have coffee maker, fridge & microwave.

Good breakfast, but wished they had less carb options (more fruit). Cereal was stale. They served pancakes, omelets, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits & gravy, toast, muffins, bagel, english muffins, coffee, milk & juice (not all on the same day).

Just an exit either way to good places to eat. Ramblin Jacks Rib Eye, Country Cousin & Kit Carson Family Diner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was the third HIE that I stayed on this trip and it was just like the other 2, a great stay. Room was clean, had all the amenities we expected for the price. Continental breakfast was standard HIE fare, which means it has a good selection of cold and hot foods (wish they would bring back the waffle maker as the pancake maker is not as good). HIE is still my first choice of hotels when on the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel on the way home from Victoria, so we just basically walked in and got a room. They had a no pets policy but apparently there was a dog show in the area and there were several large dogs in the hotel. This did not bother us since we are dog owners. The room was well appointed with a microwave and decent sized refrigerator. I would have liked to have slept with the window open but I decided there was a little too much noise from the freeway (I5). However this was not a major problem. Breakfast was included and it was okay. The sausages were a little salty but some people may like it that way. The staff was very nice and even offered us bottles of water for the road. I had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and was't expecting a lot based on some of my previous experiences with Holiday Inns. I was pleasantly surprised and will definitely consider this and other Expresses in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Being an airline pilot I see a lot of 4 and 5 star hotels, that actually are not. This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. Most important to me, exceedingly clean. Lots of soft and firm pillows, linen smelled fresh laundered, no disgusting carpet cleaning-powder smell. There were dozens of kids staying in hotel that were playing in local baseball tournament.....I did not hear anyone in neighboring rooms. It was 94 degrees outside, and it only took about 1 1/2 hours to get room temp down to 68 degrees. The breakfast buffet was above average, well stocked and 3 friendly young ladies that kept area clean, food hot and well supplied. Trains run nearby, however fan tuned that out for me. No hotel in Olympia is better than this property. Go to Ramblin Jacks Rib Eye for diner and you will have a memorable stay in Chehalis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia

Address: 730 NW Liberty Place, Chehalis, WA 98532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Chehalis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chehalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new Chehalis/Centralia, Washington hotel! The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chehalis/Centralia conveniently located near downtown Chehalis and halfway between Seattle & Portland. Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Chehalis/Centralia hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Centralia Factory Outlets, Mount St. Helens, Lewis County Historical Museum are all near our hotel in Chehalis & are great for family outings. Adults can spend an evening at the Lucky Eagle Casino or watch the races at South Sound Speedway. With convenient access to Weyerhaeuser Company Research Center, Michael s Distribution Center, Providence Centralia Hospital & Sierra Pacific, our hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. A 24-hour business center & free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, will help you stay connected as you do business on the road. During your stay at our Chehalis/Centralia hotel, take time to enjoy the fabulous amenities. You can relax in the heated, indoor pool & whirlpool or work-out in the fitness center. Every morning, a free Express Start hot breakfast bar is available in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis Hotel Chehalis
Holiday Inn Express Chehalis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Suites Chehalis - Centralia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.