We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good, but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   20500 Old Highway 99, SW, Centralia, WA 98531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Centralia
Seattle, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was a bit small in a way and not in other ways. Which doesn't help at all does it. lol Ok so it is basically missing a few things that I think would make it much more appealing - it doesn't have a lazy river. Which really, even some hotels have lazy rivers now, so that was a bit annoying. I grew up in Vegas and LIVED at the waterpark in the summers sometimes and we loved just chatting and floating down the river. Anyway, so no river. It also has 2 "hot pools" - I don't really dare call them hot tubs because there are no fabulous jets to give you a massage. Just semi-warm small pools that the kids can hang out in too. And they are against a side wall kinda away from everything. If I had designed the place I would have strategically placed them around the park so parents could chill in them while they watch their kids, instead of having to take up another little chair. So those are the negatives (well and the pizza sucked). On the plus side, there were a few fun slides, one pretty freakin amazing one (its worth it all just for that one), a good wave pool, a pool with some basketball hoops and a neat lillypad rope walk thingy (hard to describe) and tons of activities to really do if you are over the water park bit- like this magic quest game thats really for kids 8-9+ and blacklight mini golf. Plus a pretty big arcade. The park itself was open until 9, but we left around 7:30 to do dinner and didn't come back till after we moved stuff out of the room this morning. We did around 5 hours yesterday and 4 hours today, and it was enough, even with some lines and being pretty busy. All in all its fun, but not a full day thing both days unless you love to spend hours in the wave pool or just sit there and read. Given a lazy river and a few real good hot tubs I could have stayed easily another hour or two each day.

As far as our room, I'll have to write the hotel. The iron artwork on the wall banged EVERY time someone closed a door - which means we were waken all night long by what sounded like symbols from a band. It was horrible and we were all woken constantly. But I wasn't going to change rooms at midnight with a sleeping kid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    317
    177
    84
    26
See reviews for
675
12
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I took my 9 year old son, we are both gluten and dairy free and they had lots of options for us in the dinning hall. It was more expensive then the regular menu, but quite comparable eating out anywhere else. He loved his time there and wants to go back. I would upgrade to the cabin room again. You don't need to bring towels, they are provided. The quest does require a lot of walking/running around including stairs. I would say age 11 and below, older will not like it as much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited Great Wolf Lodge with our son and daughter-in-law, grandson, 5 years old, and granddaughter who was 7 months. We shared one of the rooms that had a separate king bed in a room with a door. Some things we thought could be improved were - a mirror in the room with the king bed. More seating in the main room. More places to hang up wet towels and swimsuits. We were a little disappointed in the number of slides. It's too bad there weren't more as there were long lines for any of the slides.

We never ate in the lodge, but found great places nearby. We had hamburgers one evening at the Burger Claim restaurant that is right in the same parking lot as the lodge. This was a wonderful place to eat. Food was good and hot and delicious. Also, we had pizza from the pizza place just down the road. I think it was called Figuaro Pizza - something like that. It was pretty good.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor looking out towards the waterpark. Room was quiet until morning when we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in a kids cabin suite, which was great. We enjoyed the waterpark for about 3 hours the first day. But on the second day, kids wanted to instead play the MagiQuest game, which they played over 7 hours total without finishing the final battle with the silver dragon. I was impressed that a game could keep them active, excited, and motivated for SOO long. They went up and down those five staircases despite such sore feet. It'd be nearly impossible to come here and not play the game, with so many other kids playing and having a blast. Wands cost from $15-18 and the game $12 more. Then there are accessory wand toppers. Even toddlers had wands! But you get to keep it as a souvenir or use it again or other MagiQuests. As for food, we only had the pizza one night and it was below par. Parents are expected to mind their kids the whole time, so don't expect a parents getaway. Kids can't wait to go again, but with the price, it won't be anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Expect to be surrounded by pint-sized miscreants from the time you enter to the time you leave the facility. Great Wolf Lodge is truly a vacation destination designed from the ground up by a 10 year old. The epicenter of the lodge contains a large arcade the entrance to the water park, multiple gift shops, an ice cream parlor, a pizza take-out window and countless animatronic animals and treasure chests activated by a $20 magic wand that can be purchased in a gift shop. Indeed it provides everything a 10 year old could think of when designing the perfect vacation destination. Unfortunately, even the most well-intentioned 10 year old is prone to a few oversights when designing something as complex as a family vacation destination. Healthy eating options are among the first oversights. While pizza, chicken strips, ice cream, and slushies, may seem like a sustainable diet to a 10 year old, it may in fact have played a role in the wave pool being closed down 5 times in a single day to clean out vomit and fecal matter. Yet another downside of succumbing to the decision making of an adolescent design team is massive pinch points in foot traffic. Again, while I'm sure to a 10 year old the idea of having an electronic scavenger hunt set up on multiple floors of the hotel may seem like a brilliant idea, the reality is it can make for extremely long waits at the elevators. Don't be surprised to wait 5-10 minutes for an elevator to avail itself in this eight story building. Indeed everything about Great Wolf Lodge is designed to provide sensory and consumerism overload to every child who enters.

The saving grace of this establishment is the water park. While it does offer limited options for older or more adventurous children, it is well maintained and has a staff that does a tremendous job at looking out for the safety of everyone while greeting each guest with a smile. I was very impressed with all of the lifeguards energy and enthusiasm as it lasted throughout their entire shift. Certainly limiting water park access to hotel guests alone does help maintain reasonable lines to some of the more popular rides in the park (unless, as mentioned above, the wave pool is closed for emergency cleanup).

All in all, we had a great time at the water park and found the accommodations to be acceptable. However, for the money I would like to see the hotel transcend the level of acceptable. I would say Great Wolf Lodge does a better job at catering to younger children (under 10) than it does older kids. Indeed if hemorrhaging money for the sake of your family’s entertainment is not a problem then the Great Wolf Lodge is a great choice. Otherwise I might suggest you find a city with a nice Ritz Carlton and a stand-alone water park and design your own water park vacation at about the same price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The kid cabin suite was awesome. Request the first floor and you will have wonderfully high ceilings. Fun for kids but can get pricey with the games and add-ons. Room was clean, pool was clean. There are food options south on I-5 so that you don't have to eat every meal here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had 2 adults and a 5 year old staying in a Kid Camp suite for two nights. The suite itself was great, no complaints there (except the adult beds were too soft for our taste). The water park and other entertainment was fun for everyone. So it looks like a great place. What did not work for us was that they advertise themselves as a family "resort" and the prices they charge are high enough we expected the range of services and facilities of a full service resort, however, they were either lacking or non-existent. Specific examples are that parents are expected to mind their kids 24-hours a day, there are no child minding services and no organized events that you can drop your child off at. Another example is the dining options; primarily these are limited to a bar & grill and the main restaurant which is set up for buffet ... the menu for both is almost identical so it wasn't clear to us why they even bothered separating them into two different facilities. There there is no room service, no fine dining options and no better restaraunts off-site in the local area. So if you are happy with that situation for the price then you will probably have a great time. However, for us we would only consider returning if there was a groupon or other similar promotion where we could stay for a single night at a more appropriate price and focus just on enjoying the water park ... for multi-day trips we will be going to more fully featured resorts in future.

Room Tip: Kid Camp rooms offer kids a separate room (no door) and their own TV with game controller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 20500 Old Highway 99, SW, Centralia, WA 98531
Location: United States > Washington > Centralia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Centralia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Groupon, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Centralia
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Washington/Centralia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.