We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Heron Inn to your Saves list
Blue Heron Inn
2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Castle Rock B&B and Inns
Louisville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Great location. Almost across the street from the first Mount St. Helen's visitor's center.

Room sizes were very nice, bath room was clean, towels were great. King size bed was great and comfortable.

Steps are required to get to rooms but that was fine with us.

Carpet needs to be replaced through out. Eric has plans for improving the property so I am sure carpets are on the list.

Eric's hospitality was tremendous. Wine and cheese in the evening and great full breakfast in the morning.

Would recommend. Location is great. Food was great. Room was very nice.

  • Liked — Location, food, and owner hospitality
  • Disliked — Carpets need replacing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Blue Heron in August 2008 and agree that Eric is doing a great job. He is so welcoming and puts on a great breakfast and evening wine and cheese. When he is not there, Scott is in charge and he is just as friendly. We stayed two nights and both mornings we lingered over breakfast talking to other guests from all over Europe and the US.

The location is across the street from the first visitor's center. It is back from the road and higher in elevation so the traffic will not bother you.

We were in the Jacuzzi suite which was spotless. The King bed was very, very comfortable and the fold-out bed was fine for my 15 year old son. The Jacuzzi is huge and is above a garage, so you don't bother anyone if you use it. There is also a fabulous walk-in shower in the bathroom.

There are lots of board games, books and movies in the common areas. There is a guest fridge in the kitchen. The covered porch out front is lovely as is the view. We saw deer just feet away on our last morning.

If you are trying to decide where to stay as you visit the mountain, I urge you to choose the Blue Heron Inn.

  • Liked — The welcoming vibe, the view, the breakfast
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Blue Heron was a pleasant surprise. The new owner, Erik, is very much hands-on and committed. He provided a very warm welcome and information on the local area.

The setting is quite pleasant with the outside deck providing a very comfortable location to relax after a day of local exploration. Erik put out two bottles of wine as well as cheese and crackers in the early evening. A nice touch.

The rooms are large and satisfactorily furnished. The property is sufficiently far back from the road that traffic noise is not a problem. There is high speed WiFi and the televisions in each room have a good cable selection. The inside common areas as noted in other reviews are large and would be good as well especially if the weather were unkind.

Erik put together a nice breakfast with three cooked dishes. One dish was a quiche, another an egg casserole, and the third was sauteed potatoes. There was a hearty selection of fruit, orange juice, and toast/English Muffins.

Yes, the carpets could be cleaned but this is a very small point. I would say the new owner has the property pointed in the right direction.

  • Liked — Good host and accommodations
  • Disliked — Limited dining options in area - not a big problem
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

What an absolutely fantastic Hotel. The location was stunning and the staff were so friendly. It was extremley difficult to leave. The views from the room were amazing, breakfast was exceptional, it was an amazing place, hope to visit it again some day.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

When we stayed at the Blue Heron, the new owner had just taken possession that very week! He had already made lots of positive changes (lovely new furniture in the common areas), with many more improvements planned. He was very friendly and helpful, with good tips on local restaurants

The inn has an amazing view....a marshland park with many birds, beyond that Spirit Lake, and beyond that, Mount St. Helens. All rooms have balconys, and there is a huge common deck with table and chairs on the front of the second floor. Although it is on a road, there is nothing else in the vicinity except the marsh park.

Breakfast was very well-prepared, with not a lot of overly sweet carbs, but a delicious meat and egg bake, home-made muffins, and fruit.

There are still a few bugs to work out at the Blue Heron, but it seems it will only keep getting better. Recommended.

  • Liked — location, owner
  • Disliked — rooms need a bit of an upgrade for the price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

If you are reading this, you probably already know that there are very few options for travelers who want to stay close to Mount Saint Helens (even from this B&B, it's 30 miles to the Johnston Ridge Observatory, the main goal for volcano visitors). We booked this B&B because it was as close as we could find except for the Eco Park Resort, which is a little closer but doesn't have bathrooms in the cabins, which bothered me.

The Blue Heron changed ownership just 3 weeks before we were there, so things may go up or down pretty quickly. We stayed on the 3rd floor in room 4. It was OK, but the furniture was pretty dusty and the bathroom looked like it could use a really thorough cleaning. The carpet throughout the B&B is worn and somewhat stained and needs to be changed, but perhaps the new manager will take care of this. The sleep sofa in the room would only be comfortable for a small child (which we had).

As mentioned in other reviews, this B&B has large, open common areas which are fine if you want to socialize with other guests. I could see there being a noise problem if guests wanted to chat or watch TV late into the night and you wanted to sleep, but the night we were there, the inn was full and all was quiet by 9 pm.

Breakfast, provided in your room rate, was excellent and plentiful: quiche, fresh fruit, cereals, etc.

Dinner options are VERY limited; we went to a small country cooking place down the road and were pretty disappointed. But it had changed management recently too, and perhaps will improve with time. I'd recommend eating before you check in or bring a picnic dinner or something!

This B&B is expensive and for the money we paid (over $150 a night), I would expect a little more in the way of cleanliness and updated carpet, decor, etc. But, it IS convenient to the volcano.

  • Liked — Close to Mount Saint Helens
  • Disliked — Price was high for what you got
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed at The Blue Heron Inn on a two week tour of Washington state in early June 2008. The Inn offers guests a relaxing balcony in each room with distant views of Mt. St. Helens. Unfortunately, the day that we were there the view was obscured by low-lying clouds.

The Inn has an open layout with a lounge and television on each floor. The fireplace is a nice touch. It makes for a very relaxing setting. We wished that we stayed a second night.

Fow those visiting Mt. St. Helens, please keep in mid that the Johnson Observation area is a least 20 miles away.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — booking process
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611
Location: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Inn is located diagonally opposite the Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Castle Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.