We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Heron Inn to your Saves list
Blue Heron Inn
2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Castle Rock B&B and Inns
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Blue Heron Inn. It's a fine B & B that is family owned. The rooms were simple and clean with a view of Mount St. Helens, which is a 45 minute drive away. The B & B was probably decorated in the 1980-1990's. So what? It was clean, neat and met our needs. Chris made a nice breakfast. They did some unusual things like putting orange slices in the store bought orange juice and sliced cucumber in the ice water. I'm a foodie and would suggest putting half the amounts in both. The fruit was day-old but certainly acceptable. I was a little concerned that there wouldn't be enough food. However, because the other couple didn't come to breakfast, we were fine.
There is a road nearby and traffic was using it until around midnight. After that, it was quiet and didn't start up again until around 7 a.m. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't absolutely quiet, either.
*FYI - no one associated with the B & B stays on the property overnight. This was a little unnerving to me the first time we stayed there. (I'm from the city...) However, we merely locked up. Chris was there early enough so it was not a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you’re looking for a place to stay after spending the day at Mount St. Helens, the Blue Heron is the smart choice. Don’t book your stay with the expectation you are staying at a historic or luxurious B&B, because the Blue Heron is neither. But, it does offer a great panoramic view of Mount St. Helens, balconied rooms that are spacious and clean, and an ample country-style breakfast.

We stayed in the Contemporary room for one night and found it comfortable but sparsely appointed. While very sizable, our room could have benefitted from the addition of a small desk & chair and good dose of charm. Overall the room decore was pretty stark with a couple of small generic hotel style pictures on the walls and not much else. This gap may stem from the fact that the owner doesn't live in the property full time and is instead managed by courteous, seasonal caretakers.

All in all, the accommodations met our needs and the breakfast was delicious, with enough choices to please every guest.. The balconies and patios facing the mountain are a plus. Hopefully, they will improve their online reservation system in the future to make the booking and contact experience a little more user-friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great location, very friendly staff, great views, coffee/cookies available throughout, full kitchen available for cooking, refrigerator (in kitchen) for storing food (if required). Had a great stay !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Dealing with this "inn" is like dealing with a hotel from the mid-1970's. I called to make a reservation (you can't reserve online), and when they could not timely get me a written confirmation of the reservation (after all, I was traveling across the country with 2 children, and wanting confirmation of the reservation is not unusual), I called and cancelled the reservation. Then, they still charged my credit card, and were flippant about it when I contacted them. This "inn" is very unprofessional, unorganized, and I would definitely not stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location and views, lovely friendly staff, excellent breakfasts, entertainingly shared with all the other guests. Coffee tea and biscuits whenever you want and a kitchen to use if you want to cook your own evening meal. Couldn't ask for any more

Room Tip: Get a room facing Mt St Helens, though I think they all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at The Blue Heron our final night in Washington state. We could see Mt St Helen's from our room which was perfect since she was hidden in the clouds the next day on our drive to the observatory. There were 3 other couples staying and we had a very nice breakfast the next morning visiting with everyone including the owners. Very nice accommodating folks. The helped calm my fear about the drive to the observatory.....thanks!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I want to own this house! All rooms face mount st Helen's and have amazing views. The rooms are very clean and spacious and have a homely feel. The visitors centre is within walking distance and there's a viewpoint about an hours drive away. There is plenty of communal sitting areas. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available all afternoon/evening and breakfast is also included (which was delicious). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611
Location: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Inn is located diagonally opposite the Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Castle Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.