We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliverance in the Cascades.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heron Inn
2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Castle Rock B&B and Inns
Bingen, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deliverance in the Cascades.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife returned this AM from an overnight in anticipation of a bike ride. Last night, there was a party outside her room, loud, tequila, continuous. No intervention from owners. About 3AM, a threatening drunk is hammering on the door. There are derisive names, shouts, threats. My wife has to flee her room to our friends room. They eventually flee the B&B the next AM. Evidently, the owner knows the abuser.

I stayed home with the kids. My wife is still crying from last night. What the hail!! This place should be put out of business.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is the place to stay in the area! Clean, friendly, and close to hwy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umatilla
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Purchased a Living Social Coupon and had no idea what to expect. When we arrived I was more then pleased! The view is spectacular.....the rooms are clean and comfortable with wonderful views from the balcony.....excellent breakfast served "farm style" with more then enough to have seconds and thirds...and best of all was "the family"....really it was a "staff of amazing friends" of the owners and each one was a delight......just hated to leave....could have spent several more days in these surroundings......Do yourself a favor and plan a nice weekend away at this wonderful B & B....probably the best one I've been to!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room in this B & B.....all face the mountain and if the mountain is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I loved this place. The setting was beautiful. The breakfast was to die for. We had fresh fruit, 2 kinds of quiche, hash browns, muffins and fresh juices. The common areas were cozy. The inn keeper (Brenda) was very cordial and ate breakfast with the guests which I thought was a nice touch. I can't say enough about how Brenda made the visit pleasant. We were a little bit rushed so we didn't get to enjoy the common areas like would would have liked. However, it had a fireplace and vaulted ceilings with a veranda. Every room had a nice view from a balcony. The weather was misty for us so we didn't get the full view of the forest and the lake but we enjoyed the mist all the same since we come from the dessert of Utah. Please check out my pictures if I can figure out how to attach pictures.

Now, why 4 stars instead of 5? If you are a light sleeper, this place is not for you. My wife is a light sleeper and she was particularly concerned about how easily you could hear the other guests. Fortunately, the other guests, who we met at breakfast, were courteous and settled in early.

Room Tip: Only experienced one room but I can see that they all have the same view and all had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcsoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We live outside of Seattle and wanted a short getaway and came to the Blue Heron Inn in Castle Rock, WA. My husband and I were so glad we did! We actually purchased the deal from Living Social, and the whole experience was well above expectations. We were greeted by Brenda, who was so nice and accommodating. We were happy just to wind down, so we went to our room, which was extremely cozy. We were in #3, which supposedly had an amazing view of St. Helens. The mountain was cloud covered when we arrived, so we went downstairs to taste the wine and enjoy picking out our free bottle. We chose the Sangiovese, but their dessert wines were really good too. We took a stroll around Silver Lake and came back to relax. It was a nice treat to get the fresh baked cookies in the afternoon! We had brought our own beverages and snacks, so we plopped down in front of the tv, watched football, and relaxed. We met another awesome couple who joined us for a bit. Being our first B&B, we were hesitant that the owners would be too intrusive, but it was the complete opposite. Brenda exited and simply told us breakfast was at 9am. After a while, we went to our room, and it was then that St. Helens had shown her beauty. We went to sleep with the memory etched in our minds. Breakfast was amazing, and Teresa was quite hospitable. Luckily, we had some snacks left over from the night before becuase we woke early and had a while before going downstairs. The breakfast was divine, and we got to enjoy two other couples. We were sad to leave, and wish we could have extended our stay, but we will be back. I had read other reviews and heard the bad stigma a gentleman named Eric had put with the place, but have no fear, this was a stellar stay. Please, do yourself a favor and stay here. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room number # 3 had an amazing view! Pack a snack or a light dinner. There are fridges you can use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Great time was had! My husband and I spent our time touring the area of Mt St. Helens, and loved being able to come back to the warm and friendly B&B.
Brenda was so welcoming to her guests, un-intrusive, and made the best breakfast. We had fun getting to know everyone.Our room was cozy and inviting as well.
We also enjoyed getting to know June and Gary that run the wine tasting bar.
Overall, it was a treat from beginning to end, I would recommend this to my friends and plan on returning in the spring. Maria and Sean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and stayed with our extended family at the Blue Heron Inn and had a lovely time. Beautiful rooms, sitting areas and fantastic service. We especially like being across the street from the Mt St Helen's Visitor's Center and the wonderful (easy) walking trails. The house was inviting to relax in and the breakfast was superb with fresh fruit, muffins, quiche and more. We will definitely stay here again. I could see staying here from Portland to Seattle or to go over to Multnomah Falls. A relaxing and fond memory to be sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 2846 Spirit Lake Hwy, Castle Rock, WA 98611
Location: United States > Washington > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Inn is located diagonally opposite the Mt. St. Helens Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Castle Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.