We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!!! Fabulous hospitality!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Camas Hotel to your Saves list
Camas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   405 NE 4th Avenue, Camas, WA 98607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting!!! Fabulous hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Fabulous hospitality!!! Extraordinary wine & dinner at Oliver's without stuffy pretense!!! Also, really enjoyed the clientele; people seemed very proud of their community. Our room was very classically done with fine quality rather than fussiness. The location was very convenient to The Gorge as well as the airport. We will stay here whenever we are back in the area!!! I was ready to move to Camas by the time we had to fly home ;~) !!!!

Room Tip: Beware noisy street-cleaner certain mornings. Ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    43
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
83
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

When I told my hosts I was staying at the Camas Hotel, they had puzzled looks on their faces. Apparently, they didn't know a lovely little boutique hotel was serving travelers right in their own back yard. Beautifully updated and decorated, the Camas Hotel also offers fresh cooked early morning breakfast in a sunny atrium adorned with fresh flowers. Quiet, warm and full of personality, it's a sanctuary minutes from Portland. Loved it.

Room Tip: I loved room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is simply an amazing Hotel, the breakfast, the beds, the beauty of the room and the friendlyest Hospatality!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

The Cammas Hotel is a gem in this pacific northwest town. Interesting shops and restaurants within walking distance add to the cozy, quiet, and elegant ambience of the hotel. The staff is welcoming, the restaurant, Oliver's, has the best Manhattan Cocktails north of the Columbia River.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My husband and I came to Camas/Washougal on a house hunting trip. We stayed at the Camas hotel so we could get a feel for the area and the people. The Historic Hotel has been remodeled and is quaint and comfortable. We immediately felt welcome by the friendly staff and owners! Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. The kings size bed was by far the most comfortable and luxurious I have ever slept on in a 'hotel'. It was nice to get away from the chain hotels. I did have a bit of an issue with my WiFi connection and the staff immediately tried to resolve the problem. We are moving to the area and will recommend the Historic Camas Hotel to friends!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here over New Years and had a lovely stay. The beds were the most comfortable we slept on after two weeks of traveling and staying at half a dozen hotels. The rooms aren't huge but the decor is elegant, and I'd definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Most charming inn with asmosphere, perfect little rooms, vintage comforts. Lovely bedding! Although you could shoot a cannon down Camas Min Street in the afternoon without harming a soul, nighttime was a non-stop circus of noise and action from inside and outside. Not 1 not 2 but 3 garbage and recycling trucks right outside the hotel and in the alley. Our room bordered both. The train goes through town every hour with--you guessed it--not 1, not 2 not 3 but 4 whisltes each time. They owners go to great lengths to explain the old boiler system. I grew up with such a system. However, it was cool bordering on cold the afternoon we checked in. By bedtime, we had cranked off the heater only to experience hissing, banging and sauna-like heat. All that lovely bedding pushed to the bottom of the bed as we lie under the sheet alone trying to stay cool. The creaking floor of the people above who also experienced a non-sleeping night made for our worst stay in Washington.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starfish223, Owner at Camas Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Our first negative review. This is traumatic. We regret that our guest had a bad night at our hotel. After thinking it over, we realize that these problems can be addressed.The weekly trash pick-up noises can be avoided by not booking room 4 (right on the corner above the alley) on Tuesday nights.

And we provide ear plugs for guests who are sensitive to noises which could be their sweetheart snoring, a creaky 100-year-old building (the hotel ghost?) or even the mournful train whistle down the road (1/2 mile away). Our rooms are soundproofed, and the windows double paned, with three layers of windowcoverings. We've also had our old boiler checked to ensure that guest room temperatures are comfortable.

So now, we just hope that, in spite of the difficulties faced by this guest, intrepid travelers will still venture to Camas to see what we have to offer - a sweet hotel, a charming downtown, a lovely old movie theater, many fine spas and restaurants (Our restaurant Oliver's was just featured in Food & Wine Magazine), and great access to the scenic Columbia River Gorge, or artsy Portland across the river.

We hope to see you soon.

Tom & Karen Hall
Proprieters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camas Hotel

Address: 405 NE 4th Avenue, Camas, WA 98607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Camas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate romantic boutique hotel located in the heart of historic downtown Camas. Conveniently located 15 minutes north of the Portland Airport, between downtown Portland, and the scenic Columbia Gorge. Camas has many restaurants, spas, shops and outdoor activities to offer-hiking, biking, bicycling, snowshoeing, boating in the Columbia River or at nearby Lacamas Lake, fishing, golfing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Camas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.