We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and 14 years old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Andis Road, Burlington, WA 98233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Burlington
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Basic and 14 years old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was full the night we stayed. We were going to go on a whale watching trip the next day.
Check in was fine. There were two issues we had during our stay. My wife was going to use the toilet and the seat was lose. She strained her back from the jolt. The other issue was the phone by the bed didn't work. I tried to check the cord, connection etc. I needed a wake up call so that meant I had to walk to the front desk and nobody was there. Then the person had to accompany me to the room (my wife was in bed and it was around 11 and we were tired). He tried to get the phone to work and couldn't either. He proceeded to bring a different phone to the room and that did not work.
I was told the hotel is 13 or 14 years old. It is at the point where maintenance and repairs are starting to be needed. Also, I took a picture of the bed. The edge of the mattress was all smashed down. They need to replace the mattress on the beds. Everything wears out at some point.
They were fair and took of 20% the next morning. I appreciated that.
Staff were friendly, the breakfast was good and it was reasonably quiet.
The hotel was basically fine but just getting a bit tired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear helpingothers,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is very pleasing to know that you found the staff to be friendly. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the room's condition. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into and will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.
We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
32
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama-Japan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A clean, modern, 2 queens, room met all our expectations for a one night stay on our way to Seattle. Quick check-in, nice front desk staff; what more is there to add?! Well, maybe that it's conveniently located to the highway.

Counter on which breakfast is served is (more or less) located in a corner of the breakfast room, so it feels a bit cramped. However, breakfast itself is pretty good!

If you're 'self-microwave-catering', Target is less than 5 minutes away by car to get yourself a meal ....

Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a king mini-suite. Very pleasant and comfortable. The mini-suite was spacious, the staff were very pleasant. Having the refrigerator and microwave is a plus. I would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a mini suite on the end so it was very quiet, large, and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very convenient location. Sound transmission is not very insulated throughout the building. Otherwise, service and included breakfast was great. Room fully equipped with fridge, microwave and large flat panel TV. pool and fitness center well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear conscom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that our location, accommodations and service you received were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. My apologies for the inconvenience the noise has caused you. Rest assured that we will take your comments under consideration so they will help us become the best hotel we can be. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent a night here during vacation on our way south along the coast. We had an excellent stay, no complaints. Room was clean, bed was comfy, shower was great. Would stay again to be sure and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's your average HIE, not within walking distance from any eatery unless you like MickyD's.
I was there two nights one of which was a Friday night leading into Berry Dairy what ever.
Ask the front clerk if with my Diamond level I could check out a 1:00 pm.
She said no and if I'm not out I'll have to pay another night.
Never ever will I stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ron S,

Thank you for your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the service you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I were traveling up to Vancouver, BC to escape the 4th of July fireworks. We decided to breakup the drive north and visit Mt. Vernon. We had made reservations stating we were traveling with my service dog, that I required a quiet room,"not by the elevator or ice machine, no adjoining room door and not near any celebratory guests," please.

We went to bed at 10:30 only to be woken up at 1:20 AM by loud upstairs neighbors. I called but it continued that way till after 2:15 which is a long time if you are tired and got woken up thinking it was an earthquake.

Much to our surprise, we tried to sleep in, with our do not disturb sign on the door, when we find that are directly across form the hotel laundry room and the housekeeping staff was in full swing into loud laughter and gossip. No one appreciate a good laugh more than me but not when i'm sleepy.

Now, I understand that the hotel cannot fully control loud guest who come in late from bars but when one ASKS FOR A QUIET ROOM you do not put them across from a busy area like the hotel housekeeping and main laundry area!

This really sucked and I felt disrespected and not heard. The front dest manager was apologetic but nothing soothes disrupted sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear MariaT3,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced specifically with the noise. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington

Address: 900 Andis Road, Burlington, WA 98233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, WA is located at exit 229 off I-5, minutes from Skagit Valley & Tulalip Casino's, outlets & shopping malls, Burlington/Mt. Vernon attractions, Skagit Speedway, WA State Ferry, whale watching, scenic San Juan Islands, Deception Pass, tulip fields, North Cascades Natl. Park, and the nearby cities of Mt. Vernon, Bellingham, LaConnor and Anacortes. This affordable Burlington hotel features an indoor pool, business center, fitness center and spacious rooms with microwave and refrigerator, plus several two-room suites and Jacuzzi suites! Businesses: Dri-Eaz, Paccar, Janicki, Sierra Pacific, Pacific Woodtech Corp, Shell & Tesoro Refineries, Puget Sound Energy, Nordic Tugs, Draper Valley Farms, Sakuma Brothers, Port Of Skagit County, and Transform. Hospitals: Skagit Valley Hospital, United General Hospital, and Skagit Valley Medical Center. Universities: Skagit Valley Community College. Retail: Seattle Premium Outlets, Prime Outlet Mall, Cascade Mall, Costco, and Home Depot. Attractions: Skagit Valley Casino, Northern Lights Casino, Tulalip Casino, Deception Pass, North Cascades National Park, Skagit Speedway, Riverfront Park, Tulip/berry fields, Seattle and Vancouver, BC. A credit card with proper ID is required for registration. Pets are not permitted on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.