We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess you get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cocusa Motel

Save Saved
You added Cocusa Motel to your Saves list
Cocusa Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cocusa Motel
370 W. Rio Vista Ave., Burlington, WA 98233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Burlington
Kelso, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I guess you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Parking lot needs re-paved, stairs need repaired (crumbling) and customer service was not great. Beds were really uncomfortable and their "free wifi" was horrible. Didn't work hardly at all. When I called to ask about (about 5pm) they said wifi goes down for restarts at 6, well its around 5pm, and I knowing a little about restarts it takes a couple minutes, by 9pm I gave up and went to bed. Next time I visit up there I will pay a little more and get better

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
7
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We made reservations after reading some reviews about this motel being clean & comfortable, I seriously question if the people that made these "clean" reviews had actually stayed here. At $100.00 a night I expected something decent, this place was bad. Filthy, ripped sheets & towels, cigarette burns in the blankets & a totally horrible experience. I'd spend twice as much to get a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had it not been so late we would have kept on driving. Walking in to the room and finding it smelling like a boys locker room, then the dirty wash cloth hanging in the shower to the torn stained carpets, this place was flithy. Thankfully no bed bugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The price was right but I wish I would have driven a little further to find a better place to stay. The tile floors and carpet were horribly dirty. I had to walk around in my shoes. The sheets had holes in the and the mattresses were pretty bad. I rate this overall as a 2.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Expectations are everything. If you are looking for an upscale vacation destination, you'll probably be disappointed, if however, you are looking for conveniently located, reasonably priced accommodations, this can work for you. Cocusa has seen its better days, and probably worse days as well. It's an older unit that appears to be getting better. The paint is fresh; the units surround a central courtyard with pleasant plantings and a swimming pool. Ground floor rooms have direct access to the courtyard from within their rooms. The motel is located just off I5, at the Burlington exit, It’s an easy in and out for I5 travelers; however, If you are west bound on HW 20, a U-turn will be required.

The lobby is clean and bright; a very pleasant desk attendant, along with an affordable room rate set the tone for a comfortable stay. The restaurant / bar next door were closed during my stay; however, restaurants of all types, from fast food, to up-scale steak houses are all within a 5 minute drive. A limited continental breakfast is provided each morning in the lobby; fruit, cereal, pastries, muffins, coffee and other beverages are available. ..

My handicap configured room included 2 queen sized beds, one hospital style with built in electric head elevation and a vibrator (no coins required), plus a second bed for family members or an attendant. There was complete wheel chair access to the bath room, sink and shower with proper hand rails on the back and side wall by the toilet.

The TV and other furnishing were old, but serviceable; a small fridge (about 2"X2") and microwave were provided; however, the fridge was on the floor and being small, was difficult to access.

The bottom line: You get more than you pay for, and I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have direct access to a very nice courtyard and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

When u arrive on a derby weekend and large sporting event to Bellingham and all the hotels close to Bellingham airport are full, u may have to pick a place u usually wouldn't. It was cheap, the courtyard grass/pool area is actually very nice. The rooms are .... Well used. The rooms have all been smoked in so the smell.... Not fresh, and I'm not very good at limbo but the shower head being at a height of 5 feet really gives you an opportunity to practice. The staff and even the other guest were all very friendly so I'm trying to sell the good things. Go here as a place to sleep with no expectations and it should be ok

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just like the title says, the location is nice, howevere there is a point one must think of "when is it to cheap", I am not saying to spend hundreds each night for hotel rooms but when you do pay for your room, you expect it to be clean, and bright, which this place was not. I mentioned my issues by email the next day to the owner and they advised me I should have sayed somewhere else.

The breakfast was all prepackaged junk food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
Pets Allowed, B...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Free Parking, P...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocusa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocusa Motel

Address: 370 W. Rio Vista Ave., Burlington, WA 98233
Location: United States > Washington > Burlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cocusa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocusa Hotel Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocusa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.