We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhododendron Cafe

Rhododendron Cafe
5521 Chuckanut Dr, Bow, WA 98232
360-766-6667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Bow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As Good As Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went here for our Wedding Anniversary dinner. We live in near by Anacortes and have eaten here many times. We had a great dinner and the service was excellent. The menu selection was very good. While not a large selection, we had a hard time choosing as we wanted to try them all. Will definately come back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
everett, washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've been visiting this wonderful place for many years. The first time I stopped here I was surprised by the interesting menu. The service is friendly, the prices are reasonable. This keeps me coming back whenever I'm in this area. I was afraid for a while that The Rhody wouldn't survive because it's so out of the way. I'm always glad to see it's still there and as great as ever.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in a beautiful area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant specializes in local and organic dishes. I liked that they acknowledge all the people/farmers who contribute to their tasty fare. The food is creative, fresh, and healthy. Although the restaurant is small and informal, their culinary expertise is impressive. From seafood to meat to vegetarian, the food was expertly prepared. I will return next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a great little place to eat, though it's easy to pass by without giving it much notice. Each month the Rhody runs a different ethnic/regional theme. For example, for August it is Skagit Valley treats (the area where the cafe is located); in September it will be Persia to South Africa. My wife and I have never been disappointed in the food, whether choosing one of the special theme dishes or indulging in a burger. Cozy atmosphere, nice staff and great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Do not miss this cafe along Washington's "Monterey Coast".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Eclectic cafe at the southern end of Chuckanut Drive (take the drive which parallels I-5 if you have time - the views are spectacular!). The Rhody, as locals call it, is well-known for superb dinner meals and wines. We stopped for lunch this trip. The Rhody is in a converted house with about 50-75 seats. Lunch is anything from small dinner selections to standard sandwich fair. Sandwiches are served on wonderful breads.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhododendron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rhododendron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhododendron Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.