We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should eat here every month they are open” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhododendron Cafe

Rhododendron Cafe
5521 Chuckanut Dr, Bow, WA 98232
360-766-6667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Bow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“We should eat here every month they are open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

So said my husband today after consuming an excellent lunch. The Rhody (as it's known locally) is open March--November and has a different cuisine featured each month. In July they serve island food (Caribbean, Hawaiian, Cuban, etc.) and we had the Cuban sandwich. We preceded the entree with a Chuckanut cheese plate (3 local cheeses plus a mango chutney with apple slices) and it was all yummy. I had locally made ice cream for dessert (vanilla and salted caramel). I admit I didn't especially care for the salted caramel ice cream; thought it tasted like molasses, but other than that, I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best of the West-go there now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

There are not many places that have quality and consistency and wonderful food and service.
The Rhododendron Cafe has all of these things with locally sourced foods, great coffee, and service that is unhurried and customer focussed. Dropped in on my way from Seattle Airport with a California film producer who was completely dazzled by the marvellous food in gentle unpretentious surroundings. Outstanding salads, and a Malaysian Laksa that was superb.
Find a reason to go to Bow, and rush for one of the finest meals you can get in the Northwest Pacific.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Brunch and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We decided to take our Berner (Bernese Mt. Dog) for a walk by Padilla Bay. We drove down the scenic Chuckanut drive (in Washington) stopped in to have breakfast/brunch at the locally famous Rhododendron Cafe. The service was spot on and the food was a delight in every bite. The cost was very reasonable and everything else was great!!!! Serendipity!

Recommend it for anyone! This is truly a treasure of the Pacific Northwest.

PS It does not look like much from the outside, but well worth the stop.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Back to the Rhododendron Cafe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We went back after such a great previous experience. This time for Mother's Day. We were not disappointed. I love the fun innovative cuisine that changes month by month. Our brunch offerings were what I expected- quality, well-crafted, tasty, and very filling. It's a special place to keep coming back to.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine food of the Pacific Northwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

What a surprise to find such a fine restaurant a few miles off the I-5. Take the Bow-Edison exit from I-5, or the scenic Chuckanut drive to the Rohdodenfron Cafe. An unassuming little house at the crossroads serves amazing, fresh local food. We had oysters from down the road, brilliant goat's cheese salads, and such a reasonable bottle of Washington wine. I'm tempted to keep the secret to myself, but I really want this restaurant to thrive; it will be our regular dinner stop on the way to Seattle.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhododendron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rhododendron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhododendron Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.