We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Semiahmoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Semiahmoo Resort to your Saves list
Semiahmoo Resort
9565 Semiahmoo Parkway, Blaine, WA 98230-9326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Marysville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Return to Semiahmoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I and our youngest son returned to the wonderful Semiahmoo Resort in March.
It was a warm and inviting reception upon entering the resort. Some remodeling has begun to change different parts of the Inn, but it didn't effect our stay at all. The 3 nights we were there, we enjoyed great meals, an evening bon fire, a swim in the pool and sauna for my wife and son. the staff were the friendliest and kindest folks that made our stay very complete. We hope to return again before the year is up

Room Tip: Request a room in the middle of the Inn. It is very quiet there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Michael

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to express our appreciation for you taking the time to share your family experience with the TripAdvisor community.

If you have returned to the resort and we were able to create another memorable experience for you and your family, ten we invite you to return again and discover the refreshed Semiahmoo and its new amenities. Why not reconnect with the “friendly and kindest folks”?

Warm regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    23
    15
    2
See reviews for
35
84
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently stayed for three nights at the resort and had a wonderful time. They are in the process of renovating but the restaurant was open with a full menu, and the spa and pool are operating. The rooms were well appointed and had great views of the bay and White Rock from the balcony.

You can tell by the work going on that the resort is going to be something special when it is finished and we can't wait to get back to experience it when it is done.

All of the staff could not have been more accommodating and it truly has the feel of being at a family beach house. Take the kids, take the dogs (they are pet friendly), and enjoy the fresh air and ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Eric

Thank you very much for your thorough review of your experience at Semiahmoo resort. We are thrilled to read that we created the environment and feel of a “family beach house”. Your comments have been shared with the entire Semiahmoo resort team.

Our setting and activities make it special but mostly the warmth from the team we have here.
We certainly welcome your accolades and invite you and your family to escape again at the resort. Semiahmoo in not far from Bellevue!

Awaiting your next visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I had a getaway weekend there. Hadn't stayed for many many years and felt stunned again at the location with water on two sides, mountain and island views. Our non view room was spacious, two chairs and a table desk, queen bed. From the fourth floor we did have a partial,view of Drayton Harbor and the Cascade peaks as well as Feb sunrise. Room was well kept, attractive, nice bed, very quiet. Good service at front desk, housekeeping. Friendly staff throughout.
As noted, renovation of restaurants is not complete. The one restaurant, Packers, is understaffed. Very nice waitstaff can't keep up and somewhere in the chain of custody, the food gets Luke warm before it arrives if it is at all prone to cooling. The recipes were pleasing, attractively presented. Fork and knife Caesar Salad was excellent, soups are good and also hot. Frittata to go was still hot upstairs in room. Not so fortunate with grilled seafood entree at dinner or eggs Benedict. If this is going to ruin your stay, wait for official reopening May 1 when the kinks are worked out and hopefully the main restaurant is open. It's easy to see the staff are trying hard and glad to be back to work again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review and great rating on TripAdvisor. I truly appreciate you recognizing the efforts of our front office and housekeeping team - I will certainly share a copy of your review with our entire team. The few challenges you mentioned in your posting have been a focus and are closed to be fixed before our grand opening. As I always teach the team, service of excellence ought to be provided any day.

Looking at the details of your posting, I certainly can see that you have taken journeys and have been taking the time to provide other travelers and potential guests with great tips and ideas. We feel honored to have been one of your destinations and look forward to your continuing support and loyalty.

I look forward to your next getaway to Washington’s seaside retreat,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodinville, wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent two nights at the resort recently and were well pleased with our stay. January is a quiet time since golf, beach walking and outdoors are some of the amenities but if a very comfortable, quiet relaxing time is what you're looking for this is an excellent time and place to go. Service and friendliness were top notch. The property is undergoing a renovation (which must be very quiet as we were never bothered by it) and they have moved the dining area closer to the lobby. It is smaller but very adequate. The food was excellent. The chef, Eric, has come up with a varied menu in both choice and price. Breakfast was terrific as was Happy Hour and dinner. This is important as you are a distance from most other restaurants. We had a small suite with a fireplace and were totally comfortable. The bed was excellent. I understand they will be redecorating the rooms but we were very satisfied with ours as it was. Summer and better weather should provide all the outdoor activities including a swimming pool. There is also a spa located at the property. We will go again. My one complaint is that road signage is terrible even though we knew generally where we were headed. When they have their formal reopening, I hope they will have remedied this.

Room Tip: The best views look north over the bay toward Canada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with humble gratitude that I read your accolades. “Relaxing and kicking back”, things we must enjoy today as we are often on constant “go-go” mode. I'm glad you had a wonderful stay.

I truly appreciate the level of detail in which you described your experience and stay. And moreover, I am grateful for your “renovation" comments and challenge you had while driving to the resort...we have been working diligently with the state, city and local community to strategically place signage leading to the resort. The process is in full swing and we should be completing installation hopefully soon.

Thank you for the four star rating! I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Service was poor. It appeared that the staff was new. Check in was slow, food service was slow,40 minutes for hot tea. Check out was slow. We decided to eat breakfast at a restaurant off site rather than endure the slow service again.
Room is okay but Spartan. For example no surface available for a game of scrabble. Wonderful view through windows. No outside balcony.
No signage - walk a block with luggage. In short we walked away thinking that they are not ready for business. Will try again in a couple of years.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Although we pride ourselves on creating memorable experiences for all our guests, every so often (very much the exception and not the rule), we admittedly fall short of exceeding the expectations of our valuable guests.

I am equally disappointed that we failed to exceed your expectation. Would you be so kind, at your convenience, to contact me directly to discuss your stay further? I can be reached at 206-901-9268 or via e-mail at odiop@semiahmoo.com.

I very much do not want to lose you as a frequent guest and I feel that I have learned and can continue can learn more from you to help us improve so that the loyalty continues in near future.

Indeed the renovation is not complete yet it is not impeding on our daily service, contrary, it created excitement for our guests, opportunities to have an excellent dining room (the Seaview lounge), rebuild a porte cochere and also offer promotional rates to our guests among other upcoming welcome improvement.

I truly hope to hear from you soon, in hopes that I can regain your loyalty and demonstrate our consistent commitment to creating memorable experiences.

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Whether its walking on the beach, sitting next to a bonfire, soaking in a hot tub, this is a wonderful place to relax. They invite you in with warm delicious cider. The beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever experienced. Staff is professional and helpful. While I didn't have a spa service, it looked very inviting. I will say the rooms are on the plain side. They could use a decorator. And I wish they would add the $15 resort use fee to the reservation instead of adding it as an additional fee.

Room Tip: The robes are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had such a relaxing stay and that you found Semiahmoo resort resting beside all the enjoyable activities we offer. I will certainly share your accolades with the team that created the experience and took you on an enjoyable journey filled with serenity.
During our renovation, one of the main focus is the guest room and a great uplift is in the collimator.
To tentatively explain the resort fee, you are correct, there is a possibility of adding it to the rate. We believe we ought to properly disclose it and not misrepresented the price that you can expect to pay for your stay. Yet we will continue to work on excellence and exceed your expectation.

Thank you for the wonderful review. I hope to see you again at Semiahmoo resort.

Sincerely,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the resort on Christmas Eve. The lobby was nicely decorated with a festive tree, lights, and a sleigh display. Check-in was efficient and the staff was very helpful in checking on our buffet reservations. A cup of hot spiced cider was welcome on this cold damp evening.
This is a grand hotel, very nicely furnished with antique/vintage furnishings. There is a game/reading room right off of the lobby, and a warm fireplace invited guests to relax and enjoy a quiet moment.
We got a 3rd floor room on the bayside, which offered a very nice view of Vancouver just a short hop across the bay. The resort is about as close as you can get to Canada without being there.
The room was clean and well-furnished with some style (don't know if they were vintage or just reproductions, but the decor was warm and inviting. The mattress wasn't the most comfortable we have experienced, being very firm, along with the pillows, but the sheets were high quality. All in all a very nice room and we enjoyed the overnight stay.
The hotel is going through a renovation though we saw no evidence of this. It was fun to walk around the hotel, looking in the dining rooms, movie theatre, and restaurants. Oh, about the food...We had the special Christmas buffet, but we have to say that it was a disappointment. Each table had a menu of the buffet items, but we didn't find some of the menu items on the buffet tables like the crab legs and oysters. The food was in general quite bland, and the meat was left out too long and was somewhat dried out. The food presentation was not exceptional either. We left feeling like we did not get a good value for the price. There was another restaurant on the premise but an unexpectedly large turnout left no reservations available if that was what you wanted instead of the buffet.
In the morning we walked around the grounds and enjoyed a rare winter sunshine and beautiful, clear views of the surrounding bay. The resort has plenty of activities, but more oriented toward summer time with beach volleyball, tennis courts, and nearby golfing. We were just grateful for a quiet one-night getaway and overall we were happy with our experience. Someday we will return!

Room Tip: Recommend upper floors with views of Vancouver....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five star rating on TripAdvisor. There is nothing better than “A nice gateway!” Your accolades certainly have been shared with the entire staff. As you mentioned many facet of Semiahmoo resorts going from the arrival process to the culinary experience, you are certainly making any reader take a journey through the resort without being on site.

I am pleased to also read that even the resort is under renovation it did not impede into your experience.

We look forward to your next gateway to Semiahmoo resort even if it is for one night again. It just gets better and better!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Parkway, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Location: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semiahmoo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.