We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Semiahmoo Resort to your Saves list
Semiahmoo Resort
9565 Semiahmoo Parkway, Blaine, WA 98230-9326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed January 15 & 16, 2014. Even though it was the off season, the facility was in excellent condition and the service was full and attentive. The restaurant provided a full menu with great food. Lots of personal attention with little perks such as the hot cider when coming in from a cool walk taking in all the shore birds and beautiful views. Yes, we will return.
John F

Room Tip: Go for the beach side views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you have chosen to stay at Semiahmoo during the winter. This area has its own microclimate and ecosystem. It is great to be at the beach and at the same time be able to enjoy all the birds migrating, the Canadian coastal mountain range, the magnificent Mount Baker, etc.
Funny that the hot apple cider is one of the delight that our guests remember. Well it is part of our identity here at Semiahmoo and we will be delighted to welcome you again and possibly soon as we will be having a birding festival (Wings over water) in March.

Bring your binoculars then it should be a fun time again!

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    23
    15
    2
See reviews for
35
84
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here in 1/14. Gorgeous as always. Restaurant was awesome, great service and excellent food. The staff are above and beyond accommodating. The spa was marvelous. View is superb. The prices were reasonable. We definitely will be coming here again and again.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a view is a huge plus, but they can be pricey upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and rating. After such posting on TripAdvisor I can only show humble and sincere gratitude on behalf of the Semiahmoo resort team and invite you for more and more escapes.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We did the new years event at semiahmoo. We stayed overnight and had dinner and danced to an excellent band called The Atlantics. The event would have been much better if the staff had been better trained for service, the buffet line had been restocked in a timely fashion and some colossal fails like rock hard dumplings being passed off as gnocchis that could be fatal if thrown or ingested, had been tossed rather than served. The poorly installed dance floor added a bit of absurdity to the festivities, but all in all, despite the colossally average catering staff and the dated decor it was still worth it thanks to the band.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

While it is always wonderful to hear wonderful accolades and feedback about our guest's experience, it is those comments that are more constructive in nature that help us improve and I am grateful for you taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.

With deepest apologies for your room service experience, please know that I have shared your comments with our entire food & beverage and culinary team for immediate research and resolution.
In addition, we have budgeted during the renovation that started this week to have new logistics. Semiahmoo Resort has a good tradition, organizing events that involve having our guests being entertained on the dance floor. Rest assure that the entire Semiahmoo resort team is engaged to perpetuate the tradition and more. For that reason a dance floor is on our “shopping list.”
Glad to read that you have enjoyed the rooms and band. The Atlantis certainly know to start a new year, reason why they are invited to return each year.
Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo Resort to celebrate the New Year and for the feedback.
At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week with our son and dog. We have a boat moored across the street, but wanted to stay here to use the pool, etc. as a treat for New Year's. They forgot to give us a dog dish in our room and I had to go and ask for one. A towel for the dog would have been nice too, so I didn't have to use a washcloth for her muddy paws. (I've also stayed at pet-friendly resorts that provide a blanket for dogs which is nice as it keeps their furniture cleaner too) The room was clean, but there were some drips down the side of the toilet on one side that grossed me out. Very comfy, new beds, but the sheets don't fit at ALL! We used the pool, hot tub and steam rooms. Pool and hot tub were both a bit dirty and the area lacked ambience, but the Steam Room was fantastic. Restaurant service can use some major improvements, but the food is decent- I recommend going for Happy Hour as the main menus are expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us via tripAdvisor. Like I often say, it is always wonderful to receive great accolades, yet truly the comments and feedback that are more constructive in nature are most helpful, as it provides us great assistance in improving. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies to you. What you experienced was very much the exception and not the rule. Forgetting a dog dish, drips down the toilet, restaurant service are flows that we should not be having.

The culinary team has been working diligently to finalize pricing. As we start the renovation of our restaurant this week, I am sure the culinary team focus will resume to finalizing pricing in order to remain competitive.

You are correct, comfortable bed should go with great sheet. We recently received new sheets that will be going in all rooms, meeting our high standard in bedding (high thread count, comfortable, fitting well, triple sheeting).
Please rest assured that all the concerns are being fully addressed during the renovation. I look forward to welcome you back to a rejuvenated Semiahmoo resort soon.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were celebrating our anniversary with another couple just 2 days after Christmas and were looking for a quiet get-a-way. We were pleasantly surprised! The resort is in a unique setting with beautiful water views and lovely walking paths. We experienced a warm welcome and quick check altho' it was obviously a very busy time. We were delighted to find an anniversary welcome gift in our room from the hotel! The room was very clean and comfortable and nicely, but not over the top, decorated. The rooms were also very quiet. Altho' the resort is huge, it has a feeling of coziness with plenty of areas to hide away or curl up on a couch and just enjoy the view and even with a lot of people around, it never felt crowded. Any staff that we encountered, whether in the hallways, restaurant, or front counter, were very friendly. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you have chosen Semiahmoo Resort as your destination for celebration.
Reading your comments, it seems like you discovered a great place to enjoy, serenity, peaceful environment, high level of service and more.
Thank you for the accolades. Semiahmoo team is awaiting your next escape.
At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I must first preface this review and say, that in all reality, it is a 4 star place, BUT...you can tell that after reopening, they are doing their very best to make it a 5 star place. The place isn't perfect, but with current renovations, things should be up to 5 star respectability by Spring of 2014.

The room was beautiful and the entire facility was very, very clean and well taken care of (I notice cleanliness). It is a place you can relax while taking in an incredible view.

The beauty of it is...with not much around, you can easily forget the hustle and bustle of life. I would recommend this place to anyone, but especially to couples wanting to get away for the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Your reasoning for the 5 stars is very supple and it will be shared with our staff here at the resort. They have majorly contribute to work towards restoring the lost lust of Semiahmoo.

You are correct that the view is spectacular no matter the direction you are facing.
It is a pleasure to let you know that we will be breaking ground in a week, with a first focus on our food and beverage outlets.

We hope to see recreate the memorable experience for you and all the folks you will recommend to make us the “destination resort” of the Pacific Northwest.

Be Semiahmoo,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable room, good staff, good food, many renovations/upgrades complete with more to come. I would definitely stay again.

The only drawback was the dated fitness area, we were advised this will be upgraded in spring 2014.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you found our "rooms comfortable" and recognizing Semiahmoo staff. Your wonderful experience (from culinary to service and more) is to the team 's credit. I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write and post a highly rated review on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for escaping from so far away to the Semiahmoo resort golf and spa.

We look forward to your next journey to the US. I am sure you will be inspired to rekindle the experience.

At your service,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Parkway, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Location: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semiahmoo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.