We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Creek Winery

Dakota Creek Winery
3575 Haynie Rd Blaine, WA 98230, Blaine, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Blaine
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was the designated driver, so only had tiny sips of the wine, but my friends loved it and bought a few bottles. Which I got to drink later on. The owners and their dog were there to talk us through everything, and Ken even took us into the shed to see the barrels and explain a few things to us. They were really accommodating, there was 8 of us, and we literally just turned up! If you are in the area, definitely make a stop in to see them and taste some of their wine (they aren't stingy with the sizes they pour either!)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Jill and Ken are great hosts and we have always enjoyed our visits. We've attended when they have had the Arts Festival and music and also have visited and participated in the grape stomp.
Any time we've visited, it's been a welcoming fun experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - great wines - and Zoe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We love Jill & Ken and little Zoe. This trip was special because of the release of 5 new wines and the Art Festival that was happening on-site. There are many great wines - cheese & crackers available - and patio tables and chairs for nice days outside.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Riesling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Almost didn't go in when I saw this was only a shed and no sign of wine production, but glad that I did. One of the best Rieslings I've had (2010) and couldn't resist a bottle of the Doggone Good Red they had just released. (in honor of their cute dog Zoe). First winery that I've visited in more than 20 years that didn't charge for tasting. (open Thurs-Sat 1-5 pm). They do everything except the growing here and was educated to learn that grapes don't grow on "this side of the mountain". I challenged Ken the owner as I thought I had seen acres of grape vines around Lynden and he informed me they were RASPBERRY VINES! Now I know why they were tied up in huge circles, unlike any grape vines that I had ever seen before.

And Jill's yard is full of beautiful and whimsical scultptures. She also referred me to a friend who has an Artisan Cheese factory closer to Birch Bay and Ferndale and we went there also.

Only disappointment was that I told them (when I bought tWO bottles of wine) we were staying at World Mark in Birch Bay and that I had read the full flyer in the room binder and he didn't offer a discount. When I got back to World Mark found there was a slip in the lobby offering 10% discount there on purchase of wine.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine and people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ken and Jill are great owners. And their dog, Zoe, happily greets all. Ken and Jill are very knowledgable about their wines and will pour you samples for you to taste. They also sell cheese plates, which are great. They have a great outdoor area if the weather is nice. They have special events around the Holidays, featuring chocolate and other delectables.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakota Creek Winery also viewed

 

Been to Dakota Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Creek Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.