We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality of meals continues to decline--we give up” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Black Diamond Bakery

Black Diamond Bakery
32805 Railroad Ave, Black Diamond, WA 98010-9750
(360) 886-2741
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quality of meals continues to decline--we give up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The BDB has drawn customers from far and wide for many years and we have enjoyed some memorable meals here, especially breakfast. However, after several unfortunate experiences in a row, we will go elsewhere.
The most recent visit was a poor quality breakfast--old biscut that appeared to have been steamed, greasy hashbrowns that had obviously sat around for awhile and been reheated. The omelet that I have ordered on many occasions was about 2/3 the size as has been in the past. The prices are high but used to be worth it--not anymore. Sad to lose what used to be a great restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enumclaw, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

They used to a really great place for breakfast and sandwiches. Since the new ownership I have seen a very noticeable decline in the quality of food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No WAYYYY Ever again!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had resevations ( made 2 months in advance) for Mothers Day 11am, showed up at 10:45am didnt get seated until 12:50 didnt get food until 1:45pm by that time kids and I were so OVER hungry we couldnt eat, just got sick. because of their LACK of service time I missed making my Seattle Mothers Day cruise boat ride and couldnt get on the next and last boat of the day as it was full as they had reservations. The new owner and management staff dont really care either! My husband made reservations the next year at the bakery to surprise me and WOW what a surprise he got as I sat in the parking lot screaming at him that I would never go back there again! . He swore it would be ok but after checking once again we were told they were an hour behind the reservations. So another Mothers Day ruined. This year for Easter just for the sake of doubt I called the bakery and got the rude manager on the phone who stated "You will have this problem anywhere you go and just because you have a reservation doesnt mean you will get seated right away". I explained my experiences with her in the hopes that they had fixed this problem but instead got a rude attitude. THATS IT! Not ever again will I go there and you would be glad you dont either!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Years ago if you said you lived in Black Diamond people would say Oh you have that great bakery there with a huge Sunday brunch. After the sale of the establishment a few years ago the food is average at best and while the wait staff is friendly it doesn't take long, if you listen to the conversations and the owner giving orders you will figure the odd atmosphere in the air. Watching and listening will be bring to your attention that there are so many labor laws, health violations and fire codes being ignored that you wonder who is looking the other way while the owners continue to operate without giving employees breaks, fire codes are not met and food prep is scary. I don't work for them nor do I know of anyone that is currently employed there. I'm basing my comments on what I've seen and listened to while I've been there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great pie place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I were satisfied with the meatloaf sandwich Sunday ((sourdough bread AAA+, meatfloaf AA+ but the big hist was the marionberry pie with the cascade icecream. Top notch. Would go back for that. Don't miss the meat shop next door...bought pepperoni, smoked bacon, cornish game hens.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Diamond Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Black Diamond Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Diamond Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.