We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful deli, and a plus was the bluegrass band” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Deli

Old World Deli
1140 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 738-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A wonderful deli, and a plus was the bluegrass band”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stopped in here on an evening in Bellingham when we were tired and didn't want a huge dinner. What a wonderful treat. We parked on the street and entered to the sounds of a bluegrass band, The Prozac Boys. There were two ladies in this group, one playing fiddle and the other doing vocals. We went to the counter and placed our order for two sandwiches. Oh my, they were delicious and really hit the spot. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the entertainment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful deli, w/wine to taste or buy, in Belingham WA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Informal, Northern European feeling. On-street metered parking. Delicious soups that change daily; repertoire of sandwiches muffettas and breads/italian rolls. Daily "specials" and entreé -sized salads made to order.. Vegetarian items available.service. Reasonably priced at $10.65 for a sliced roast chicken sandwich on whole wheat toast with pesto.

Deli case has a variety of salamis and cheeses. Broad wine selection w/ a number available to taste/by the glass.. Good selection of bottled soft drinks, domestic and imported bottled sodas anffruit drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best deli in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food is delicious. Great soups, sandwiches, and stellar wine collection. My favorite spot for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Reuben”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped here for lunch while on a trip through Bellingham. Actually the address on Trip Advisor was a block off -- the Deli moved to the 1200 block of the same street. We were lucky to see it by chance as we drove by.
Their sandwiches were very good and just the right size. Not so huge you felt guilty eating it-- but delicious! It looked like they'd be a great place for breakfast. It's one of those places where you want to order everything on the giant menu over the order counter.
It's a nice space-- used brick, older building. Worth a stop for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been craving a muffaletta sandwich for literally years and I was not disappointed when I had one for lunch at Old World Deli. I actually took half home to eat later as it was large and stuffed with meat and an awesome olive salad. My wife had the lunch special with a panini and soup and enjoyed her meal also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Deli also viewed

 

Been to Old World Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old World Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.