We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Deli

Old World Deli
1140 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 738-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 414 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Old World Deli is an inconspicuous restaurant on State Street, but not a place to ignore. The pastrami literally melts in your mouth and their muffaletta sandwich is as close to New Orleans authentic as we have found. A good assortment of special beer and old-fashioned soda pop makes a simple lunch a real treat. Take time to meander through their small retail area where you will find wines and olives and other hard-to-find items to take home with you or give as gifts. We haven't gone to one yet, but they also put together wine pairing dinners that, if their other offerings are any indication, are a must to attend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with Amazing Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took some time to research a restaurant in Bellingham as we find that the food is always not awesome when we visit this border shopping town and we were not disappointed! The food was fresh and very delicious, I could have had two sandwiches! We selected the soup of the day and grilled panini type sandwiches. The area was very neat, had a few cool stores around that we checked out after and there was also meter parking directly on the street out front. We will for sure be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meaganhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This Deli really is Old World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

They have all kinds of deli meats and cheese. Their bread is baked right there - it's so good, we've special ordered loaves for dinner parties at our home. Nice selection of wines. They will give you samples of various deli items, if you're not sure. Sometimes a pretty long line at lunch time - a good sign :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandCAT2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really tasty food, great atmosphere, wine on location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very tasty menu, portions not too big, but nice flavor combinations. Stopped here for lunch, would like to come for dinner and buy a bottle of wine as well. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent place for out of the way meats and cheeses. Friendly and clean. Will go out of their way to please.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Deli also viewed

 

Been to Old World Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing