We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Deli

Old World Deli
1140 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 738-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 393 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Blaine, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Old World Deli is an inconspicuous restaurant on State Street, but not a place to ignore. The pastrami literally melts in your mouth and their muffaletta sandwich is as close to New Orleans authentic as we have found. A good assortment of special beer and old-fashioned soda pop makes a simple lunch a real treat. Take time to meander through their small retail area where you will find wines and olives and other hard-to-find items to take home with you or give as gifts. We haven't gone to one yet, but they also put together wine pairing dinners that, if their other offerings are any indication, are a must to attend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with Amazing Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took some time to research a restaurant in Bellingham as we find that the food is always not awesome when we visit this border shopping town and we were not disappointed! The food was fresh and very delicious, I could have had two sandwiches! We selected the soup of the day and grilled panini type sandwiches. The area was very neat, had a few cool stores around that we checked out after and there was also meter parking directly on the street out front. We will for sure be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This Deli really is Old World”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

They have all kinds of deli meats and cheese. Their bread is baked right there - it's so good, we've special ordered loaves for dinner parties at our home. Nice selection of wines. They will give you samples of various deli items, if you're not sure. Sometimes a pretty long line at lunch time - a good sign :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really tasty food, great atmosphere, wine on location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very tasty menu, portions not too big, but nice flavor combinations. Stopped here for lunch, would like to come for dinner and buy a bottle of wine as well. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent place for out of the way meats and cheeses. Friendly and clean. Will go out of their way to please.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Deli also viewed

 

Been to Old World Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old World Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.