We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down, best. sandwich. ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Deli

Old World Deli
1140 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 738-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 334 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Bellingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hands down, best. sandwich. ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place. I've never had a sandwich this good. I had their cheese plate once, amazing! mmmmm.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The third choice was first-rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After we'd struck out at two other Bellingham restaurants on a busy Saturday, we found this friendly, pleasant spot. Savory sandwiches (try the chicken pesto panini) served on crusty Italian bread - where the half portion was more than ample. Duck soup (really) with cannelloni beans and subtle flavorings was the stellar soup of the day. We rounded out our comfort food lunch with a house-made chewy chocolate chip cookie and a Jo's Salted Caramel Chocolate Graham. OWD also features plenty of provisions to tempt you to take something home: Wine, cheeses, Euro-groceries and more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Deli is great, wine dinners are awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I attended their wine dinner in November. It was informative,entertaining but more importantly, delicious. The wines they featured were not wines I would have normally picked out so it was a treat. The wine dinner has a limited seating and provides an intimate feeling. The food is served family style so there is no shortage of opportunities to get meet new people.
We frequent their deli about once a week, the upload photos of their specials menu to facebook.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gourmet meats and cheeses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was looking for some good deli fixings to take home and this place was perfect. Copa, salumi, house made rillets, good funky smelling cheeses both local and imported, olives, etc. Super nice folks, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The is no better place for a sandwich, soup or salad in Bellingham. They always have interesting specials. Service is great and fairly fast. Lots of variety. I have never been disappointed here. The price you pay here is worth it and some. I wish there were more restaurants in Bellingham that did it right like they do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Deli also viewed

 

Been to Old World Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old World Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.