We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The third choice was first-rate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Deli

Old World Deli
1140 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 738-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 393 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Seattle
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The third choice was first-rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After we'd struck out at two other Bellingham restaurants on a busy Saturday, we found this friendly, pleasant spot. Savory sandwiches (try the chicken pesto panini) served on crusty Italian bread - where the half portion was more than ample. Duck soup (really) with cannelloni beans and subtle flavorings was the stellar soup of the day. We rounded out our comfort food lunch with a house-made chewy chocolate chip cookie and a Jo's Salted Caramel Chocolate Graham. OWD also features plenty of provisions to tempt you to take something home: Wine, cheeses, Euro-groceries and more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Deli is great, wine dinners are awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I attended their wine dinner in November. It was informative,entertaining but more importantly, delicious. The wines they featured were not wines I would have normally picked out so it was a treat. The wine dinner has a limited seating and provides an intimate feeling. The food is served family style so there is no shortage of opportunities to get meet new people.
We frequent their deli about once a week, the upload photos of their specials menu to facebook.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“gourmet meats and cheeses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was looking for some good deli fixings to take home and this place was perfect. Copa, salumi, house made rillets, good funky smelling cheeses both local and imported, olives, etc. Super nice folks, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The is no better place for a sandwich, soup or salad in Bellingham. They always have interesting specials. Service is great and fairly fast. Lots of variety. I have never been disappointed here. The price you pay here is worth it and some. I wish there were more restaurants in Bellingham that did it right like they do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“MEAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I am always seeking a great sandwich but am most often disappointed by floppy or too thick bread, meager amounts of meat, and blobs of mayo. Finally my sandwich dreams have come true! I loved the atmosphere which is part basic deli part granola. Cheese and meat platter offered some great samples to nibble on too. Service is 4 only because it's a deli so no table service, but the staff were super friendly.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Deli also viewed

 

Been to Old World Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old World Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.