We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish n chips!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Fish & Chips

Fairhaven Fish & Chips
1020 Harris Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225 (Formerly Jacci's Fish & Chips)
(360) 733-5021
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good fish n chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I love this place in the summer when you can sit outside and enjoy your fish n chips. The food is good as are the prices. In the cooler months, they have seats inside. Since it's near the Abbey Garden Tea Room, you can have fish n chips here then go to the tea room for tea and something sweet for the perfect lunch :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect college student haunt.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great seafood..especially the clam chowder. Ice cream for anyone's taste. A one of the kind place to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the Best Fish Places in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great fish and chips either cod, halibut, or salmon. The fish is cooked to perfection with a great batter and tender moist and flaky fish. Save room for dessert too. Great place to have lunch on a sunny day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

They have over 30 flavors of soft serve ice cream. I always struggle to decided which flavor. I went with licorice and loved it. We made a special trip to the Fairhaven district just to get ice-cream. So yummy!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“The best fish batter in years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped by for lunch and the line was long. I ordered fried salmon and chips and my hustband had fried halibut and chips. Both came with homemade slaw and tartar.

The kitchen is in a bus and it took a while to get our food. The fish was delicious and as I said, the batter was one of the best ever. Lighter than air, thin and crisp. Good stuff.

The chips were garlic chips in theory but we couldn't taste any garlic at all. They were okay. The slaw was light on the mayo but needed a little more vinegar for my taste.

Seating is communal and there aren't that many tables, especially if it's really busy. The menu is very limited so if you don't like fried food, give it a pass. But if, like us, you love fried fish, give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairhaven Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Fairhaven Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.