We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria Taqueria

La Gloria Taqueria
4140 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 733-9102
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 383 restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hidden within the destination shopping area of Bellingham is this terrific little Mexican Restaurant.
La Gloria offers a menu with a nice variety of creative mexican dishes. They go beyond the typical dishes that you usually see in mexican places. My wife had the Flautas Flour, which are crispy tortillas stuffed with shredded beef. I had the Chile Verde, which is pork short ribs with tomatillo sauce. Both were served with rice and beans and topped with crumbled cotija cheese. Both dishes were very delicious. The prices are very reasonable and they have a pretty good selection of beer. No margaritas though. As mentioned, this not a typical mexican place.
The restaurant is also attached to a market that offers a wide selection mexican food items and features a pretty impressive butcher.
We really enjoyed our dinner at La Gloria and will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    11
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Gloria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great food at this quaint and authentic little spot. The service is great and the food is hot, fresh, and tasty. The attached food market lends to the feel of being in Mexico and provides an opportunity to take home some authentic mexican foods and sauces. Make sure you take home some of their fresh baked pastries. A quick, fun, and interesting experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, neat little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a little place beside the mexican market. Nothing flashy or fancy just good honest food and good service. It was very busy and this was at 3 in the afternoon, a very good sign. No margaritas but a good mexican beer selection. The food was honest, tasty and good value. I had the platter which was way more than I could eat, others had tamales and chile relleno which they raved about as well. It is harder and harder to find good mexican food and this was a breath of fresh air, reminded you how good it can be and you don't have to break the bank. Check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Its usually these little hole in the wall places that springs such surprises on you. The food and service were very good! I ordered the Carne Asada and my wife ordered Soft Tacos with Chorizo and Adobada. Our daughter had the kid size Cheese Quesadilla. The cashier and waitress were very friendly and I felt they went out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. Definitely will be back for more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Little hole in the wall with fantastic genuine Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In addition to great food, the staff is very friendly. Attached to a store with lots of Mexican grocery items that are usually hard to find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria Taqueria also viewed

 
Bellingham, WA
Bellingham, WA
 

Been to La Gloria Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.