We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hole in the wall with fantastic genuine Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria Taqueria

La Gloria Taqueria
4140 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 733-9102
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 384 restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Little hole in the wall with fantastic genuine Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In addition to great food, the staff is very friendly. Attached to a store with lots of Mexican grocery items that are usually hard to find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    11
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was my first visit to this place. It is right next to their grocery store.
The place is not that big but it is clean. The cashier and the waitress were friendly and nice. There is a lot of selection for Mexican food. I haven't been to Mexico so I do not know how authentic it can be. The best food that I got in there is the Carne Asada. It is so tasty. Their salsas and refried beans are good. We also ordered the shrimps with mushrooms but am not sure if this is a Mexican dish but it is just so so, not bad though not impressive. I think it is good to stick with the Mexican ones. The beef tacos are good; not made with ground beef but with chunks of beef. Price-wise, for the carne asada with rice and refried beans and fresh tortillas, it costs $10. My son wanted an authentic Pozole soup because he tasted it in Mexico so I ordered one to go and someone ordered one to eat in the restaurant. The to-go version didn't have the same fixings as the one to be eaten in the restaurant. At home, my son said it was not as good as the one he had in Mexico.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very good real mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First visit at La Gloria Taqueria and not the last, for sure! The waitress is friendly and food is very good. The salsa is spicy, but perfect for me. I'm curious to try their fish tacos next time. It's not a fancy restaurant, and food is not fancy either, but it's good and not expansive.
It's good to have it not to far to Vancouver, BC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If you want real Mexican Food and supplies to make your own go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is so totally not Whatcom County-ish. The food is real Mexican and a lot of Hispanics eat here. There is a meat market/grocery/old school general store attached. If you like to make your own EVERYTHING you could possibly need is there. If you like Mexican go there. I'll bet you can find one or two items either on the menu or in the store that you had no idea about!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Down South food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As a Vancouverite, this is the nearest actual Mexican eating experience that you can find. Great food at great prices. Classic tacos in a diner style eating establishment that is popular with the local Latino population, for obvious reasons. Once you eat here it will become a habit. I like to shop at the market next door as they carry mole paste (Telomoapan) that I usually have to bring back from Zihuatanejo otherwise. Also stocks a lot of other Mexican products which are hard to find north of the border and at very good prices, as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria Taqueria also viewed

 
Bellingham, WA
Bellingham, WA
 

Been to La Gloria Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added La Gloria Taqueria to your Saves list