We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria Taqueria

La Gloria Taqueria
4140 Meridian St., Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 733-9102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was my first visit to this place. It is right next to their grocery store.
The place is not that big but it is clean. The cashier and the waitress were friendly and nice. There is a lot of selection for Mexican food. I haven't been to Mexico so I do not know how authentic it can be. The best food that I got in there is the Carne Asada. It is so tasty. Their salsas and refried beans are good. We also ordered the shrimps with mushrooms but am not sure if this is a Mexican dish but it is just so so, not bad though not impressive. I think it is good to stick with the Mexican ones. The beef tacos are good; not made with ground beef but with chunks of beef. Price-wise, for the carne asada with rice and refried beans and fresh tortillas, it costs $10. My son wanted an authentic Pozole soup because he tasted it in Mexico so I ordered one to go and someone ordered one to eat in the restaurant. The to-go version didn't have the same fixings as the one to be eaten in the restaurant. At home, my son said it was not as good as the one he had in Mexico.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Very good real mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First visit at La Gloria Taqueria and not the last, for sure! The waitress is friendly and food is very good. The salsa is spicy, but perfect for me. I'm curious to try their fish tacos next time. It's not a fancy restaurant, and food is not fancy either, but it's good and not expansive.
It's good to have it not to far to Vancouver, BC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“If you want real Mexican Food and supplies to make your own go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is so totally not Whatcom County-ish. The food is real Mexican and a lot of Hispanics eat here. There is a meat market/grocery/old school general store attached. If you like to make your own EVERYTHING you could possibly need is there. If you like Mexican go there. I'll bet you can find one or two items either on the menu or in the store that you had no idea about!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Down South food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As a Vancouverite, this is the nearest actual Mexican eating experience that you can find. Great food at great prices. Classic tacos in a diner style eating establishment that is popular with the local Latino population, for obvious reasons. Once you eat here it will become a habit. I like to shop at the market next door as they carry mole paste (Telomoapan) that I usually have to bring back from Zihuatanejo otherwise. Also stocks a lot of other Mexican products which are hard to find north of the border and at very good prices, as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have been going to La Gloria's, behind the Car Wash on The Guide, for years now & I can honestly say La Gloria's in the best!!! The tortillas are home made when you put in order, the Horchata & Jamaica are oh so good. Needless to say the food is out of this world!!! When I'm done eating I walk a few feet to the Carniceria for all my needs in meat. Try La Gloria's and I am sure you also will love it...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to La Gloria Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.