We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dr Sketchy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Bar

Temple Bar
306 W Champion St, Bellingham, WA 98225-4327
360-676-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dr Sketchy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is great. Where else can you get a plate of cheese and a bottle of french wine for $15. Yep, I said $15. The plate of cheese is smallish, but the bottle of wine is the real deal. My favorite great thing about this bar is that every month there is a special night for artists. You bring your sketch book and they provide the models. It is FABULOUS. Marvelous. Not to be missed. Oh- The Temple Bar has wonderful cocktails BTW. They use fresh herbs and the mixologist is a genius.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    12
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food in a simple lovely spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were just in Bellingham for a long weekend and we ate at the Temple Bar 3 days in a row! The menu is smallish, but everything we had was tasty, with great (not overly enormous) portions and very nice presentation. The cocktails are the best I've had in Bellingham, and the service is always friendly and quick. We loved sitting outside sharing snacks and drinks and enjoying the sunshine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Happy Hour on the Sidewalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We cornered a local family to ask about a place for a bite to eat, and they suggested this. Luckily a table outside opened up as we arrived and we grabbed it! Happy hour commenced with a pinot gris and small cheese plate. We later ordered the salmon rillettes salad. The atmosphere was great--a sunny late afternoon and I had a view of the water which was a few blocks away. Our wait staff was fun, chatty and ready to recommend--loved them. I'd definitely make this a place to return when we're back in the area! Spot on! Their website claims they've been voted best happy hour four years in a row. Impressive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great desserts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This little hidden bar has a great atmosphere and even better desserts!! My boyfriend and I frequent this bar for a drink and dessert after our dinner. The chocolate cake with raspberry sauce is TO DIE FOR!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Funky little place with good drinks and light eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The staff has changed over the years but this is still a great casual place to grab a drink and have something light to eat. The drink and food quality is very good; as an example, they squeeze their own grapefruit juice every day. Also one of Bellingham's few places to grab a late-night bite, although the menu is fairly limited. Good antipasto plates and also tasty paninis. Desserts are tasty too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Bar also viewed

 
Bellingham, WA

Been to Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.