We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe the high ratings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Vie En Rose French Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Vie En Rose French Bakery
111 W Holly St, Bellingham, WA 98225-4310
360-715-1839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Bakeries in Bellingham
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't believe the high ratings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a disappointment! Soup and quiche were cold, even though the latter had been heated in a microwave - ugh! The bun that came with the soup was stale, and the soup was bland. The quiche was tasty, but would have been better if it had been at least lukewarm. There were three people working behind the counter, the place was dead inside, and we had to get our own cutlery and bus our table? I can only hope that I forget about our experience as quickly as the employee forgot our drink.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“We have been here before and always put it on our Bellingham "must do" list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We like the cookies!
We enjoyed our lunch, but felt the quiche was a little overpriced.
The staff are friendly and the place is clean.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Great Find in downtown Bellingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This delicious bakery/restaurant is small, but full of tasty items. We like to go in the morning for their homemade muffins, pastries and breads. But, their are lots of fresh, homemade items for lunch, such as quiches, sandwiches and soups. If you like your food local and fresh, this is the spot. The coffee is also great. And in the afternoon, try their wine and beer selection.
A great find in the middle of downtown Bellingham.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stopped here for lunch after reading the reviews here. It's a charming little place in downtown Bellingham, nice neighborhood to stroll through. It was a lovely afternoon and I would like to have sat outside, but there were only 2 outside tables, both taken.

I had a slice of pesto/tomato/mozzarella quiche, and a small bowl of apple/cranberry/broccoli salad. The quiche was very good, the salad was excellent! I was a bit disappointed that they were out of chocolate or almond croissants, but it was afternoon.

Service was good - it was mid-afternoon so not busy. All in all a lovely little bakery and cafe.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lucky find near the Spark Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Part of my trip report:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/GoListEditor-i30345-Trip_Report_Seattle_to_Bellingham_to.html
To kill time until the Spark Museum opened, we wandered around the neighborhood near the museum. Luckily, we happened upon this wonderful bakery. Staff are welcoming and helpful. When I asked my usual question about crust (lard?), they checked with the chef and gave a detailed answer. Early enough in the summer that I am grateful for every sunny day, we sat at an outside table. My quiche was both light and filling -- sundried tomatoes, cheese...other good stuff. My dad seemed pretty happy with his raspberry cheese danish and coffee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vie En Rose French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to La Vie En Rose French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vie En Rose French Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.