We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our go-to Fish & Chips place, but now it's closed...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp Shack - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shrimp Shack
1200 Cornwall Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225-5021
360-752-9100
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This was our go-to Fish & Chips place, but now it's closed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We've had a long term connection to the original Shrimp Shack and then this one on Cornwall Avenue. This is the place we compared other F&C places to. At our last visit, we found they had closed at the end of May. We'll miss them.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mixed bag, but would go back...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was my first time to the Bellingham area, and we found the place by a Smartphone search.
The atmosphere is of course nautical themed, and OK. The restaurant and the men's bathroom was clean.
All of us ordered the Fish & Chips, and it definitely did not disappoint! One really neat menu feature is that you can choose how many pieces of fish you have, so I was finally able to order a portion that left me satisfied! IIRC, the others ordered four piece meals, and I had an eight piece. As it was, I had all eight and another one that my wife couldn't finish. The fish pieces were about the same size as the old McDonald's apple pies. The fries were good, and it was a reasonable portion. Service was good, the waitresses were friendly and efficient.
Where they fell down was on the crab cocktail and the onion rings: The wife didn't like the crab cocktail as the crab and the cocktail sauce were served separately, so it was more like crab and dipping sauce. The onion rings had a crunchy coating as opposed to a batter. This is subjective, as both of us like plain batter. All in all, we were happy with the place and would gladly go back, albeit adjust what we order accordingly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Over 40”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have been a semi-regular at both old and new building for over 40 years. The seafood is outstanding, the servers have always been top of the line, anticipating your requirements. I recommend it and will probably be going for another 40 !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“That's shrimp shack in photo your not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Sorry but that photo was when they were good, it's not the Same miss the fish guy it was a treat to go in there before but now it's lost the appeal and the food is average. Used to have a homemade taste now it's just typical fast food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Falls, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fish and chips yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

this place can't be beat with there fish and chips. the fairhaven bus comes close, but still not as good. it alway very fresh.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.