We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the old one is in the picture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp Shack - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shrimp Shack
1200 Cornwall Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225-5021
360-752-9100
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the old one is in the picture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the new one downtown is not nearly as fun as the old one was, great shrimp! I had a neighbor who loved it so much she took antihistamine before she ate it since she was allergic!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better stick with the mainline choices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The fish and chips are passable, the chowders are good, but generally the others items are cardboard tasting frozen seafood items quickly fried. We have been there several times, but will probably not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A favorite of ours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We love the chowders! Fish'n'chips & shrimp are yummy! It's got a family feel and we can get in and out or stay & visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, But Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The fish and chips were good but not amazing. The chips were just generic fries. The halibut and cod were tasty, but not so memorable that we would go back if we were ever back in Bellingham. I am sure there is better fish and chips elsewhere. The tartar sauce and coleslaw was quite good. I had a cup of clam chowder and was not impressed.

I thought the service was excellent. The place was not quite open when we arrived but they invited us in anyway to get out of the rain. Our server was friendly and our food came out fast.

All in all, it isn't a bad place, but I think you can do better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Frozen seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was just so-so frozen seafood, limited offerings, almost fast food. I wasn't impressed and I haven't returned. The neighborhood offers many other dining choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.