We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dare I say, better than the Greek restaurants in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Specialties Cafe

Mediterranean Specialties Cafe
505 32nd St Ste 108, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360) 738-6895
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dare I say, better than the Greek restaurants in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was delighted to see all the offerings they had. So many spices and delicacies offered, it's very hard to choose. We started with gyros, one chicken, the other beef. Delicious! We couldn't leave without trying the baklava and it was absolutely exquisite. We will definitely be back, we have many more items to try....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for specialty ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This neighborhood gem has a great selection of specialty Mediterranean ingredients and food items. The deli counter has a few tasty Greek items that can be purchased to go or eaten in a small seating area. Come for the shopping, stay for the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to get supplies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

They have a great assortment of Mediterranean deli items. Stuff hard to find, or impossible elsewhere around here. The pre-made foods are good, but not why I go there, not meant as a negative comment, I just don't very often. They are very nice people too. Spend time wandering around looking over things I want to learn more about and to use.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Mixed review on food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband, daughter and I tried the Mediterranean Specialties Cafe recently. He and I had chicken gyros, which were disappointing. There was very little spicing to the chicken, although the tzatziki was good. My daughter had spanakopita, which was quite good, though nothing to rave about. Ditto the dolmades (grape leaves) which were good but not excellent. We were also disappointed that it is more a fast food place than a real cafe. The grocery section is interesting to look around in while you wait. All in all, we'll probably not go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great deli run by nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

I love to eat lunch here... My favorite is the falafel with baklava for desert.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean Specialties Cafe also viewed

 
Bellingham, WA
Bellingham, WA
 

Been to Mediterranean Specialties Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Specialties Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.