We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great book store” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Book Fare Village Books

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Book Fare Village Books
1200 11th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
360-734-3434
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 331 Restaurants in Bellingham
Restaurant details
Orange, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great book store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a place to spend time reading excerpts of books that you put on your wish list. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. A great selection of history and children's books

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great bookstore with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is an old fashioned bookstore, with lots of books, diverse selections, and many author events held regularly. I found suitable books for my nieces and interesting ones for my husband. It feels so refreshing to be in a bookstore like this, one that understands books and readers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“I can't imagine visiting Fairhaven and NOT at least browsing here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is kind of an "anchor store" in the Fairhaven shopping district. It's cheerful. Staff is pleasant. Interesting selection of books and much more atmospheric than your local mall B&N. Cafe on the uper level is sunny, has great views and is a nice place to have a cup of tea, look at the water, and page through the book you might be considering. Internet service is spotty. (I finally had to give up and take my laptop to the cute old library a couple blocks away.) I liked how it opened onto adjacent businesses and the "village green" in the back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful independent bookstore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fairhaven is so fortunate to have this bookstore. It is a place where you could spend hours. The knowledgable booksellers won't steer you wrong.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Gap, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am a sucker for used books. I found one of the best used bookstores that I have seen in a long time. The staff encourages you to pull up a chair and read to your hearts content. A great time especially when it is raining. Fits in nicely to the Fairhaven District

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Fare Village Books also viewed

 

Been to Book Fare Village Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Book Fare Village Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.