We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bookstore with helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Book Fare Village Books

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Book Fare Village Books
1200 11th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
360-734-3434
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Restaurant details
Burnaby, BC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great bookstore with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is an old fashioned bookstore, with lots of books, diverse selections, and many author events held regularly. I found suitable books for my nieces and interesting ones for my husband. It feels so refreshing to be in a bookstore like this, one that understands books and readers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“I can't imagine visiting Fairhaven and NOT at least browsing here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is kind of an "anchor store" in the Fairhaven shopping district. It's cheerful. Staff is pleasant. Interesting selection of books and much more atmospheric than your local mall B&N. Cafe on the uper level is sunny, has great views and is a nice place to have a cup of tea, look at the water, and page through the book you might be considering. Internet service is spotty. (I finally had to give up and take my laptop to the cute old library a couple blocks away.) I liked how it opened onto adjacent businesses and the "village green" in the back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful independent bookstore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fairhaven is so fortunate to have this bookstore. It is a place where you could spend hours. The knowledgable booksellers won't steer you wrong.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am a sucker for used books. I found one of the best used bookstores that I have seen in a long time. The staff encourages you to pull up a chair and read to your hearts content. A great time especially when it is raining. Fits in nicely to the Fairhaven District

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“That rare old fashioned book store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I could live in a store like this. An old fashioned independent book store with knowledgeable clerks and informative displays. They even have chairs scattered around so you can peruse before you choose. And, there's a discount cart so you can mix the value from new fresh to old and cherished. And of course, my favorite bookstores also have local lore and a few gifty things to delight.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Fare Village Books also viewed

 

Been to Book Fare Village Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Book Fare Village Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.