We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old peoples food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Five Columns Restaurant

Five Columns Restaurant
1301 East maple Street, off Samishy Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
360 676-9900
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #185 of 384 restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old peoples food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My 87 year old mother thought this place was great, but my husband and I (both in our 50s) were very disappointed. The place seemed dirty, service was slow, the food was so-so, and the place was expensive. Won't be back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    6
    6
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Went there yesterday because on Tuesday the soup special is pea soup and it is so delicious! We also had the pita bread with tzaziki, that was so good we ended up ordering another plate. Service was excellent, we never ran out of water or iced tea. The decor is a bit outdated but I was there for the food, not the decor. I will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whatcom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greek gone BAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Disgusting and extremely dirty inside. Watched waitress take "lightly used" water glass from a table and top it off and hand it to a NEW guest like a fresh glass!!!! EW

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good service, nice food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were on our way to Vancouver when we stop there. The restaurant look is a bit so so, but the service was amazing. The restaurant is family owned and it shows that they are proud and happy to serve you. The food was ok. We took the chicken that was super good, though the rice was poor (sticky). I also took the Spanakopita who were good. The soup, Avgolemono was great too. Great place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is soooo terrible. Are the owners spamming their reviews?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I've lived in bham for five years now, and I saw this place hundreds of times before I tried it. One day I craved a gyro, and Google recommended five columns. I called the restaurant and ordered a gyro and hummus appetizer.
I'm used to a gyro costing less than $9, and pita/hummus $6 at the most. I was prepared to spent $18 with a tip for the server. All I can say is WOW. My order cost $26.57 with NO TIP!!!! And it was take out! The price was so high, it inspired me to write an online review to warn everyone.
I couldn't believe it, I got about 8 pieces of pita and a tiny container of hummus. Instead of generously filling up the bottom of the gyro with meat, there were three spongy strips lining the bottom of the (semi-soggy) pita. The sauce was pathetically under seasoned, and my gyro was doused in tomatoes even though I asked for no tomatoes in my order.
Also, when I arrived to pick up my order, I waited awkwardly for about 5 minutes until a women who didn't speak English addressed me. After a lot of gesturing, she understood I was there for take out. I tried smiling at other servers to get their attention or prompt them to ask me how I was doing but they blatantly ignored me.
Don't go here unless you like being ripped off and under appreciated. The best thing about this place is the ficus living in the middle of the restaurant. Otherwise the whole place is seriously lifeless.
My advice to the owners: improve customer service among staff, lower price point, and make your restaurant WAY more inviting to customer. I'd give this place a 1 out of 10, because at least I had something to eat (for almost 1/2 of my weeks food budget). Pathetic.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Columns Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Five Columns Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Columns Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.