We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Columns Restaurant

Five Columns Restaurant
1301 East maple Street, off Samishy Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
360 676-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Went there yesterday because on Tuesday the soup special is pea soup and it is so delicious! We also had the pita bread with tzaziki, that was so good we ended up ordering another plate. Service was excellent, we never ran out of water or iced tea. The decor is a bit outdated but I was there for the food, not the decor. I will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    8
    8
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whatcom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greek gone BAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Disgusting and extremely dirty inside. Watched waitress take "lightly used" water glass from a table and top it off and hand it to a NEW guest like a fresh glass!!!! EW

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service, nice food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were on our way to Vancouver when we stop there. The restaurant look is a bit so so, but the service was amazing. The restaurant is family owned and it shows that they are proud and happy to serve you. The food was ok. We took the chicken that was super good, though the rice was poor (sticky). I also took the Spanakopita who were good. The soup, Avgolemono was great too. Great place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is soooo terrible. Are the owners spamming their reviews?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I've lived in bham for five years now, and I saw this place hundreds of times before I tried it. One day I craved a gyro, and Google recommended five columns. I called the restaurant and ordered a gyro and hummus appetizer.
I'm used to a gyro costing less than $9, and pita/hummus $6 at the most. I was prepared to spent $18 with a tip for the server. All I can say is WOW. My order cost $26.57 with NO TIP!!!! And it was take out! The price was so high, it inspired me to write an online review to warn everyone.
I couldn't believe it, I got about 8 pieces of pita and a tiny container of hummus. Instead of generously filling up the bottom of the gyro with meat, there were three spongy strips lining the bottom of the (semi-soggy) pita. The sauce was pathetically under seasoned, and my gyro was doused in tomatoes even though I asked for no tomatoes in my order.
Also, when I arrived to pick up my order, I waited awkwardly for about 5 minutes until a women who didn't speak English addressed me. After a lot of gesturing, she understood I was there for take out. I tried smiling at other servers to get their attention or prompt them to ask me how I was doing but they blatantly ignored me.
Don't go here unless you like being ripped off and under appreciated. The best thing about this place is the ficus living in the middle of the restaurant. Otherwise the whole place is seriously lifeless.
My advice to the owners: improve customer service among staff, lower price point, and make your restaurant WAY more inviting to customer. I'd give this place a 1 out of 10, because at least I had something to eat (for almost 1/2 of my weeks food budget). Pathetic.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazingly good food despite the strange location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

The food was sooooo good. We shared everything (5 of us) and everyone had just amazing dishes. Service read wonderful as . We will definitely be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Columns Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Five Columns Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Columns Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.