We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how can you not love this place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boomer's Drive In

Boomer's Drive In
310 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-5707
360-647-2666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 388 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Boomer’s Drive-In – Voted the Best Burger in Bellingham again & again!Great Food | Great Price | Great FunBoomer’s great food has been a local family favorite for decades. Our customers have enjoyed the same great menu of gourmet Boomers Burgers, world-famous waffle fries, real hard ice cream milkshakes, yummy hot dogs, fresh salads and old-fashion car hop service for years.Serving families in Bellingham since 1989, Boomer’s Drive-In has become a local icon. People who enjoyed Boomers as a child are now bringing their kids and grand kids to enjoy the same great food. Little about Boomers has changed over the years and we strive to keep it that way.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“how can you not love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

However many drive in restaurants are left around this vast country, this place has to be one of the best. Grilled burgers, milk shakes, fries and onion rings. Nirvana! But that's not all, the entire drive in experience is still intact. Car hops on skates in the summer, a drive up awning dining space that encompases around 20 cars I think, prompt service, trays hangin' on your window, and a major throw back menu from a 50's road trip along Route 66. Wanna order, just flick on your headlights. Ready to leave, just do it again.

There's an indoor seating section with a fire pit as well as the drive in option. They serve the same great stuff as in the drive in portion, with less cholesterol laden menu items also available. Chicken burgers veggie burgers, salads, kids meals, and so many ice cream choices. As a further plus, it's also easy on the pocket book. Very hard place to beat when the sun is shining. TA has this as the # 12 eating establishment in Bellingham, but in my book, it's in the top 5.

A great place to park the convertible and hang for a while.
5 stars totally.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers, waffle fries and shakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I enjoy a visit to Boomer's for a quick burger. Kids meals are served in a paperboard car that you can take home with you, and have a tootsie roll pop....but I've found out I would prefer the adult menu options instead of the kids meal options, even though the car is pretty cool. My favorite mea right now is a the Baby Boomer burger, it is messy with everything on it. Order it with waffle fries and a drink and you have the perfect meal. In Jan/Feb they have their Anniversary special, where all burgers are $2.99. A great deal, but it is always super crowded, so we usually avoid it during this time and come back when the special is over and the crowds are less. The everyday prices are reasonable- the baby boomer burger is only $2.99 regular priced. My mom usually gets the Teriyaki Chicken burger, which is similar to the Red Robin version if you are familiar with that, but at about half of the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Old Fashioned Burger Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved it. Lot's of charm and old fashioned atmosphere. Drive up and review the menu outside your window. When you're ready put on your headlights and help comes a running'. A short time later your food is delivered on a tray they hang on your window. The burgers were great. I had the Mushroom-Swiss, my wife the boomer with cheese and my daughter devoured a couple corn-dogs. We supplemented that with waffle fries, onion rings, a chocolate shake and to save on a few calories a diet pepsi. Everything was tasty, hot and good for you (okay, that's a stretch). If you're in the area and want a burger this place is worth a visi

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“When comes Boomer to Europe?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My brother visited Boomer last year and always every time we visted here in Holland a fast food restaurant he always talk about Boomer and Boomer and Boomer.....there;s nothing better than Boomer in Bellingham.....
Please open a Boomer driver in Holland, so we can eat and enjoy your food, and he keeps his mouth shut quietly.
I've never eaten at Boomer, but I love it already........

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“still don't get the fascination with this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Alright so overly expensive fast food in an old50/60s style ... so what ? You can get better service with better taste and lower cost elsewhere and I am no longer going to give this place any more chances.I don't "get" why people are so in love with this place. Bham has better non chain fast food I am telling you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boomer's Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Boomer's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomer's Drive In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.