We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boomer's Drive In

Boomer's Drive In
310 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-5707
360-647-2666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 384 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Boomer’s Drive-In – Voted the Best Burger in Bellingham again & again!Great Food | Great Price | Great FunBoomer’s great food has been a local family favorite for decades. Our customers have enjoyed the same great menu of gourmet Boomers Burgers, world-famous waffle fries, real hard ice cream milkshakes, yummy hot dogs, fresh salads and old-fashion car hop service for years.Serving families in Bellingham since 1989, Boomer’s Drive-In has become a local icon. People who enjoyed Boomers as a child are now bringing their kids and grand kids to enjoy the same great food. Little about Boomers has changed over the years and we strive to keep it that way.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We really enjoyed the old-school ambiance of this classic 50's-style drive in restaurant. We both ordered the Boomer Burger combo with waffle fries and a hard ice cream shake. The burger is as good as 5 Guys Burger, I won't go beyond that. It's not a new gourmet establishment, it's classic diner fare. The waffle fries were very crisp and for once I didn't feel like I needed ketchup on them. The shakes were a highlight, cold and delicious. We shared an order of onion rings, easily the crispiest I've ever had, another highlight. Total for the meal was $19.10 USD - needless to say at such a great bargain the waitress who was bringing stuff out in a cold rainy storm got an excellent tip, and we left absolutely stuffed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best burger in Bellingham!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This tiny eat in is a local, non-chain burger place. Burgers were served hot, along with their specialty waffle fries. The fireplace in the center gave it the perfect ambiance on a cold, rainy evening. Try the shakes, but give it about 30 minutes before you try drinking it - they're super thick!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good burger, great waffle fries and black cherry shake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stopped here on the way to Vancouver, because of the TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed, which is common when I follow TripAdvisor recommendations. The burger was very good, the waffle fries were even better, but the black cherry shake was awesome. Their prices are also very good. I would not hesitate to eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old fashioned milk shakes with hard ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A great place to have a car hop meal, take the kids, your parents and enjoy some nostalgia. Waffle fries are a delight and a good basic burger for $7/8 with the milkshake. It won't disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Neat 50's drive up diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Needed to grab a quick bite to eat before our campus tour at WWU. The food is what I expected from a drive up 50's type restaurant. I had a Chicken Burger with Honey Mustard Sauce. The ladies had Mushroom Swiss burgers and Fried Mushrooms. The waffle fries were good and the fry sauce was good. Fair prices. The carhops expect to see your car headlights on if you are ready to order. Only problem is what if you forget and leave on your lights and your battery dies! Well, we found out! The car across from us had just that problem. The restaurant has a mobile charger to fix that! Awesome!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boomer's Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Boomer's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomer's Drive In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.