We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Mexican options reasonably close to the border.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MI Mexico

MI Mexico
241 Telegraph Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226-8081
360-647-0073
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nishinomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“One of the better Mexican options reasonably close to the border.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Across the street from Bellis Fair Mall, it is a great option if you are looking for Mexican food.

It is reasonable in price, tasty Mexican food. Has all the favorites, we love the carne asada but their enchiladas and tacos el pastor are also very good.

They have a starter chips and salsa for free.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
At Sea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not Tacos on the Street in La Cruz and not a Chevy's (in anywhere USA). Staff is great, the decor is a tourist version of what a restaurant in Mexico might be like ... but ...

The food is great!

Bellingham is about 40 miles from Canada ... not likely you are going to find good Mexican food here. I think the crowd was only 25% gringo ... everyone else was Mexican. If everything else is as good as the enchiladas I had you won't be disappointed. What a wonderful surprise.

If you like Tex-Mex/Mexican food and don't want to drive to New Mexico or Arizona ... put Bellingham on your short list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow what a great family restaurant. This is the first place we stop at when we cross over the border into Washington state. The refried beans and rice are always well prepared and the portions are quite substantial. Families with young children are always welcome. The service is tremendous and we love the atmosphere. The Seafood enchiladas are stuffed with seafood and the Caldo de pollo is excellent. You probably will not have room for dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican Food at a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is an unpretentious Mexican restaurant in the heart of Bellingham where the service is always enthusiastic and friendly, the food excellent, plentiful and economical. I have dined here many times over the years and can honestly say I have never had a poor meal or service.

A real gem!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our standby restaurant for US shopping trips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We end up in this restaurant almost every shopping trip! Food is delicious, menus is varied and has something for everyone! We often get a late lunch, eat half and have the rest for dinner later. I would highly recommend it. Don't be afraid to venture off the norm on this menu. Everything we have tried has been a 'winner'!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MI Mexico also viewed

 

Been to MI Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MI Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.