We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Indian food I've had” 2 of 5 stars
Review of India Grill Restaurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Grill Restaurant & Bar
1215 1/2 Cornwall Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225-5020
(360) 714-0314
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 389 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Mission, Bc
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worst Indian food I've had”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I should have checked trip advisor first, but this place was the closest to where we were. We went for lunch and decided on the buffet with an order of vegetable pakora. There weren't a lot of options and the food was luke warm. There were only two naan pieces left. The rice was so-so, but there were some pieces that were dried out. The mixed vegetables were ok and the dhal and spinach / chana masala dish were so-so. I waited for 5-10 minutes for some more naan to come out, and when it did it was like they opened a bag from the day old section at the grocery store and dumped it into the container. It was cold, doughy, and had no flavour, and there was only 5 or 6 1/4 pieces and 5 people waiting for it. The pakora was barely warm, even though we ordered it fresh and had no flavour. Service was mediocre, and when the waiter asked how the food was I said I've had a lot better and he just smiled and said yeah I know...
I will stick to the places that I know, or places that have more good reviews than bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    4
    2
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bland, boring, no color, not fresh...save your money and seek elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

While I've been to northern India as a volunteer, I am no expert on Indian food. However, I have eaten at dozens of Indian establishments in the U.S. and this is probably one of the worst places, if not THE worst. The food has no color, no flavor. Bland. The buffet was approximately 5-6 items which 2-3 of the items were variations of the same thing (watery lentils, watery lentil soup-like curry, watery soupy lentils and potatoes etc..). Save your money, better off eating tacos, or anything else.
The owner was not friendly and seemed completely jaded about customers as if they were just walking pocket books (note the restaurant was empty, and now I know why).
Avoid this place if you want anything fresh, colorful or anything flavorful...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were surprised to find the India Grill at the food court of the Bellis Fair mall. There seemed to be a fair amount of vegetarian and non-veg choices. We ate during the opera movie intermission.
Although a typical lunchtime Indian buffet might have more choices, this meal was completely satisfactory. Portions were large enough that we couldn't finish everything. Then just this week we found the India Grill at the local Fairhaven Farner's Market. It looked great, too. I've been to India six times and love Indian Vegetarian food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love Indian food and have heard mixed reviews about this place so I decided to try it. I ordered the mixed grill with rice. All of the meat tasted exactly the same and it was a very weird texture, like it had been cooked for way to long or it was old. 2 types of chicken, a shrimp and lamb were included and they all tasted like very gamey lamb. I only had 1 or 2 bites of each and I could not eat anymore. Even the rice was bad. I don't know how you mess up rice, but it had the weirdest taste and I could not eat that either. The only thing that was somewhat decent were the samosas, but at best, they were "ok." I have had MUCH better samosas elsewhere.
The restaurant itself is also disgusting. It's old and run down and does not look clean. I will not be going here again and I do not recommend you do either!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place is filthy, and I would be hesitant to describe what goes on behind the scenes. NO Thanks, and I have been to India so I know what I'm talking about.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Grill Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to India Grill Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Grill Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.