We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Akroteri

Cafe Akroteri
1219 Cornwall Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225-5077
+1 360-676-5554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 394 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Welcome to our Greek kitchen where we set the standard for Greek food in the northwest. Delicious seasoned and grilled souvlakis, gyros, fresh made mousaka, domathes and spanakopitas just to name a few. Sample light fare and a cold drink in our cozy lounge and listen to live jazz every Thursday night.Come to the healthier side of dining out and enjoy the delicious "Mediterranean Diet" the world's healthiest.
Ritzville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my boyfriends and my first time having Greek food so I can't really say how authentic it was but the flavor was divine. We had some gyros which were awesome. The service was nice and the price was great for a good lunch. The crowd did seem to be more elderly and at 19 and 20 we felt a little out of place but that might just have been the time of day we went. The decor was nice and inviting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reliable and fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have gone to this restaurant for years and have never been disappointed. Everything is fresh and savory. It's just a great choice. I recommend the appetizer platter to begin, which provides a taste of lots of different delights.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent egg lemon soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The egg lemon soup is the best we've ever tasted, My friend and I had this soup twenty-five years ago. Since then we searched over and over in Greek restaurants but never found anything comparable. We are glad Cafe Akroteri hasn't changed the recipe! The saganaki and Greek ribs were also fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After many trips to Bellingham over the last number of years we finally stumbled on a great place for Greek food. It was here all the time and we do not know how we missed it!! The ambiance is okay, but everything else is way above okay - in fact Great. Really good service, super food and local beers to wash it all down. We will be back here next time we are in the fine city of Bellingham.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Falls, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best greek food this side of seattle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

this place has the best chicken souvlaki i have ever had. john is the best!!!. i started going to this place when it was just a small pastry and candy shop, when john father ran it. it came a lot way since!!!. long time loyal customer. thanks john and your staff. joe

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Akroteri also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Akroteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Akroteri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.