We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D'anna's Cafe Italiano

D'anna's Cafe Italiano
1317 N State St, Bellingham, WA 98225-4714
360-714-0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 396 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
541 helpful votes 541 helpful votes
“Loved The Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hubby and I differed on this one. We started with the steamed clams and we both enjoyed the flavors and tender clams with bread to sop up the garlic and juices. I loved my choice, crab linguini with olive oil and garlic instead of their regular sauce. Big chunks of crab and plenty of it, fresh spinach and tomatoes covered my perfectly cooked handmade pasta. Totally yummy! Hubby had the mixed seafood dish and they gave him the wrong pasta and his shrimp were way overdone. He still loved the flavors and the rest of the seafood was done properly. Both of us enjoyed the pizza bread that came with every dish. The salad was a bit plain, could have used a few other veggies besides lettuce but it was good and fresh and they substituted the vinaigrette for just olive oil as we are not dressing fans. Casual setting, paper napkins, small water glasses for our Malbec wine which, by the way, was excellent. Chairs were a bit uncomfortable but the same ones as those in the expensive restaurant where we spent twice the money for half the amount of food a few nights ago. If we lived here, this would be our "go to" place for bringing friends and family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    76
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pasta Lovers Unite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was our first time at D'annas and I can not say enough good things! Handmade pasta, delicious sauces. Its a no frills place, don't expect wine glasses...literally they give you little glass cups for your wine, rickety old tables and chairs and the most amazing food, couldn't get any better. We met a couple who had been going there for 25 years... I think we will be doing the same. 5 STARS

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“D'anna's doesn't need my review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is the BEST place to eat in Bellingham. Period. My favorite place. Evidently I have to wax poetic on the positives at D'anna's. The fact is a people with taste and good sense, such as my wife and I (small joke), visit there and TRY to have something different every time. We have our favorites however. I have loved everything I've ever eaten there. The staff is real nice as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Bellingham must! You'll be happy you visited D'anna's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always good, definitely one of the best restaurants in Bellingham! Open for lunch too! Consistently good, great service and inviting ambience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh pasta daily. Amazing flavors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The aromas will get you as soon as you walk in. Step up and add your name to the self-serve waiting list for a table. Reservations are accepted for parties of 8 or more. The items on their special sheet don't come around too often. If one sounds good, get it. Some of my favorites include the crab stuffed ravioli, duck breasts with cherries and cioppino. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'anna's Cafe Italiano also viewed

 

Been to D'anna's Cafe Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'anna's Cafe Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.