We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - food varied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Fat Fish Co.

The Big Fat Fish Co.
1304 12th St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360)733-2284
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 389 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
WA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great service - food varied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Went here for a very late lunch so had the place pretty much to ourselves. Very attentive service. Wing appetizers were great, came out hot and and very meaty. Steak sandwich tasted good, but hard to eat. The disappointing part of the meal was the hummus plate. The hummus was bland and grainy, the pita chips were hard as rocks, and the only extras were some celery and carrots. Most of these plates have some olives, or cucumbers or feta cheese along side the hummus. If not for this appetizer I would have given it 4 stars. Might return for one more chance. Lunch prices were ok.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    16
    14
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cant understand why some people rave about this place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Ive been there twice and wont return. Overpriced and the food was not that good. I find it amazing that this place is still in business. Dont bother going here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“high price for average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had a lemon drop martini, the Argentine Sirloin Chimichurri, and a limoncello cheesecake. I sat at the bar. It was about 5pm on a thursday so there were only a couple of other tables. The bartender was quite attentive - he made my drink right away, was friendly, and willing to answer any question I had. When I asked what siracha aioli was (I know what aioli is but not siracha), he brought me a sample of both the aioli as well as the siracha sauce by itself.

My meal was cooked per my order (steak medium rare) and the garlic potatoes and asparagus were yummy. The steak was too chewy and the meal not worth the price charged. I liked the cheesecake crust but the cheesecake itself was just okay.

Will not return as I feel there are better restaurants in Bellingham where I'd rather spend my money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Fish House, Not So Good Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was good, service was good also. Prices were rather high for a casual dining establishment. I guess they think they are in New Orleans---hence the name. Maybe those prices would be suitable in the Big Easy, but not in Bellingham, WA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped on a Saturday evening and our first clue should have been that the restaurant was virtually empty! We sat outside, along the sidewalk, on a beautiful evening and both ordered fish entrees. Neither meal was above average although the prices were! Service was also only mediocre. Not a place I would rush back to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Fat Fish Co. also viewed

Been to The Big Fat Fish Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Fat Fish Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.