We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fish House, Not So Good Prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Fat Fish Co. - CLOSED

The Big Fat Fish Co.
1304 12th St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360)733-2284
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Fish House, Not So Good Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was good, service was good also. Prices were rather high for a casual dining establishment. I guess they think they are in New Orleans---hence the name. Maybe those prices would be suitable in the Big Easy, but not in Bellingham, WA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped on a Saturday evening and our first clue should have been that the restaurant was virtually empty! We sat outside, along the sidewalk, on a beautiful evening and both ordered fish entrees. Neither meal was above average although the prices were! Service was also only mediocre. Not a place I would rush back to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spotty, overpriced entrées mar a very pretty restaurant - much better in bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Big Fat Fish Co. should be an excellent restaurant. It is very attractive and the menus are inviting. Regretfully, the delivery is not so good. Food can be delicious or just mediocre. Portions can be too puny for the prices charged, with a lot of variation and inconsistency. The "new" ownership has not improved things; the menus are even pricier and less predictable. There is one shining exception: the Happy Hour drinks and menu in the bar area. These are really good; you can make a fine dinner of the small-plates, excellent sushi rolls, and drink specials.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ames, iowa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Fish EVER??!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant as we walked to town of Fairhaven - what a food lovers paradise!! Any whoooo, my husband, who judges EVERY restaurant by the quality of the fish and chips, declared this the BEST fish in both Vancouver, Whistler and Bellingham - and the boy EATS fish!! I, the carnivore, chose a hamburger that was equally delicious - what is it with Canadian beef??? Worth a visit again - for sure, as is the wonderful town of Fairhaven!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the seafood chowder, and fish tacos. Both were outstanding, in fact possibly the best chowder we've ever had. The fish tacos were fresh with just the right amount of seasoning and dressings. The service was attentive, but not "in our face" by constantly interrupting to see if we liked it, which is the balance we enjoy. The ambiance is pleasant. There is outside seating on nice days, with the whole front opening up fully to enjoy the somewhat rare Northwest warm days. We would definitely recommend the BFF to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Fat Fish Co. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Fat Fish Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.