We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Fat Fish Co. - CLOSED

The Big Fat Fish Co.
1304 12th St, Bellingham, WA 98225
(360)733-2284
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped on a Saturday evening and our first clue should have been that the restaurant was virtually empty! We sat outside, along the sidewalk, on a beautiful evening and both ordered fish entrees. Neither meal was above average although the prices were! Service was also only mediocre. Not a place I would rush back to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rh4111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spotty, overpriced entrées mar a very pretty restaurant - much better in bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Big Fat Fish Co. should be an excellent restaurant. It is very attractive and the menus are inviting. Regretfully, the delivery is not so good. Food can be delicious or just mediocre. Portions can be too puny for the prices charged, with a lot of variation and inconsistency. The "new" ownership has not improved things; the menus are even pricier and less predictable. There is one shining exception: the Happy Hour drinks and menu in the bar area. These are really good; you can make a fine dinner of the small-plates, excellent sushi rolls, and drink specials.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sho1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ames, iowa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Fish EVER??!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant as we walked to town of Fairhaven - what a food lovers paradise!! Any whoooo, my husband, who judges EVERY restaurant by the quality of the fish and chips, declared this the BEST fish in both Vancouver, Whistler and Bellingham - and the boy EATS fish!! I, the carnivore, chose a hamburger that was equally delicious - what is it with Canadian beef??? Worth a visit again - for sure, as is the wonderful town of Fairhaven!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joniefitz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the seafood chowder, and fish tacos. Both were outstanding, in fact possibly the best chowder we've ever had. The fish tacos were fresh with just the right amount of seasoning and dressings. The service was attentive, but not "in our face" by constantly interrupting to see if we liked it, which is the balance we enjoy. The ambiance is pleasant. There is outside seating on nice days, with the whole front opening up fully to enjoy the somewhat rare Northwest warm days. We would definitely recommend the BFF to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer0998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant has a little different take on seafood dishes - all to the good. The wait staff is attentive and friendly. The only down side is that the restaurant is open and extremely noisy. Don't go here if you really want to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodiefool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Fat Fish Co. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing